Unearthly Trance


Hailing from Long Island and Brooklyn in New York, Unearthly Trance formed in 2000. Founding members Ryan Lipynsky and Jay Newman started with the idea of a "Metaphysical Funeral Pyre". After hearing UT's original demo tape Sonic Burial Hymns, Southern Lord's Greg Anderson quickly released the debut 7" EP Lord Humanless Awakens in 2001. Shortly after, UT parted ways with original drummer Pete McCoil and replaced him with Darren Verni.

To coincide with their full United States tour with Electric Wizard in 2002, Unearthly Trance released a limited tour CDr entitled Hadit. Following that release, Frost Walk With Me / Vitriolic Veracity Vs. The Vortex was released on 7" vinyl via Parasitic Records. The band unleashed their first proper album, Season Of Seance, Science Of Silence, in the fall of 2003. It was recorded with "drone magus" Stephen O'Malley, who assisted in the subsonic mixing.The CD was released in Europe by Lee Dorrian's Rise Above Records and in the US by The Music Cartel, with a limited vinyl version available the following year by Parasitic Records.

Their sophomore album In The Red was released on CD in Europe in November 2004, again through Rise Above Records, who also handled the vinyl pressing this time around. The US CD edition was again put out by The Music Cartel. Their third full-length and Relapse Records debut, The Trident was released on April 4th, 2006. To record the album, UT reunited with Sanford Parker and recorded the main tracks at Steve Albini's studio Electrical Audio. The band performed a handful of live shows in support of The Trident throughout 2006 and 2007, including a month-long European tour just prior to beginning work on a new album. In the latter half of 2007, the band called up Sanford Parker once again to record their next full-length release, Electrocution, at his studio Volume Recording in Chicago, IL. The album was released on March 19th, 2008.

In the time between the release of Electrocution and its follow-up, titled simply V, on September 28, 2010, UT recorded tracks for a number of split records with a diverse array of bands, including The Endless Blockade, Volition, Suma, Minsk, Aldebaran, Ramesses and Wooden Wand. , Facebook , Bandcamp , , ,
Members:Darren Verni, Jay Newman, Pete McCoil, Ryan Lipynsky
Viewing All | Unearthly Trance


For Sale on Discogs

721 For Sale



Showing 0 - 0 of 0