Jellescholte

Disclosure (3) Jellescholte

April 15, 2020
LOVE disclosure. If you can't appreciate this then go somewhere else and let the rest of us enjoy.
ItsSitrus

Disclosure (3) ItsSitrus

February 28, 2020
If you're here talking smack bout Disclosure, then you haven't listened to enough Disclosure.
DayV_Jones

Disclosure (3) as reviewed by DayV_Jones

October 16, 2014
just came across this group and I'm not sure what all the hate for their music comes from. Certainly its polished and targeted to a large audience but if one feels the need to do that this is the way to go. Its catchy without being pure bubblegum. Beats Guetta, Deadmau5 and Swedish House Mafia any day of the week. Not usually big on vocals but they are solid selections over not over simplified beats.
bishop_siege_alpha

Disclosure (3) bishop_siege_alpha

December 19, 2013
edited over 8 years ago
Far too many comments as for collective which has surfaced so recently. Their music though does the job in these cases :
1. Trying to impress your 10 years younger girlfriend that you actually know something about contemporary dance music.
2. Cruising in a car with sparkling shine alloys windows wide open trying to get girls.
3. Dancing around the table making afternoon toast wearing nothing but jams.
elektr0bi

Disclosure (3) elektr0bi

November 13, 2018
and is there anything wrong in any of that ?
Electrobeats

Disclosure (3) Electrobeats

November 2, 2013
I'm not a UK Garage expert so I am strictly talking about Disclosure's contribution to House music.
Those guys are bringing a polished, powerful sounding version of the 1988-1992 sound to the masses. I think they represent a culturally wise more legit way to House music than, say, Guetta and Avicii or other "House dj's" sharing the top 40 charts with them.
They are also very young, their live shows seem pretty good in comparison to the shitty pre-recorded dj sets of most House music popstars of the moment, and their output has been consistent so far.
I cannot see how they could be a bad thing for dance music, they are indeed a sign that House is alive and well in the 2010s.

I like some of their UK Garage/Future Garage tracks but considering I am quite ignorant on the subject I won't say else about it.
camerabob1

Disclosure (3) camerabob1

September 20, 2013
Why so much hate from the music snobs? Who cares about genre? These guys are skillful producers with a great sound and it's brought them attention by the public. Who cares if they're mainstream? They're tons better than anything else on the radio, I'd rather hear Disclosure than [insert annoying pop singer]. You people are acting as if they're going to "destroy house music", as if that would ever happen.
Pistachios

Disclosure (3) Pistachios

January 25, 2014
I think by 'music snobs' you must mean 'music lovers'. If you're happy to settle for this than that's no business of mine, you can stick it in between your Groove Armada cd and your Faithless cd. And nobody thinks they'll destroy house music - in their dj sets, they play incredible stuff - so I give them props for that at least.
PatButcher

Disclosure (3) PatButcher

October 6, 2013
Don't listen to the radio stations you're currently listening to then.. stop having your tastes defined by something as limited as radio 1 - problem solved.
Unterhimmel

Disclosure (3) as reviewed by Unterhimmel

July 9, 2013
Yes, they are "pure genius" for everyone out there who only knows the past five to ten years of Electro "House" and shitty overproduced UK Garage / Dubstep. Anyone else doesn't like them of course. Nevertheless, this is not underground House but still better commercial House. Maybe they can help bringing back the real Garage to the youth, who knows?
PatButcher

Disclosure (3) PatButcher

May 29, 2013
These boys are flavour of the month at best. Remember about 5 years ago when everyone went crazy for Pendulum? This is the same overproduced, overhyped trash that will end up in bargain bins in no time, whilst tarnishing the genre from which it emerged. The only thing keeping them going is clever marketing (that ridiculous face logo which is as visually catchy as their irritating songs) and seemingly endless collaborations with other artists. They're such posers as well.. Check one of them out in the podcast 276 picture above this review- he's doing the classic 15-year-old-girl-trying-to-look-hot pose that you can find in pretty much everyone's backdated facebook pictures.
PatButcher

Disclosure (3) PatButcher

June 8, 2013
Yeah I'm dead as.

Explain to me why you'd class them as "pure genius"? I think "straightforward and catchy" would be a better description.

They're aping a current style of house music that is being executed in a far superior way by the artists I've previously mentioned. Electronic music has recently changed a great deal, especially since dubstep blew up and then quickly became completely awful once a load of idiot producers ruined the sound and the fanbase seemed to descend back through the evolutionary timeline. Now house is taking the front seat again, and fair enough, I never got into dubstep so it's nice to see this happening. There's so much great music being released at the moment, but as with everything else, things work in complete cycles. Disclosure are basically doing what Pendulum did to drum and bass, and what UKF did to dubstep. Maybe the UKF comment is a little harsh, but admit it or not, I bet all of you were raving about Pendulum when they were big, or at least knew a hell of a lot of people that were. Pendulum started relatively underground, then they smashed into the mainstream and now none of their original fanbase will touch them since they faded out of the fickle, short attention span that's typical of the type of audience that jumps on every bandwagon going. Drum and bass actually became a widely ridiculed genre after the mainstream appeal flared up and died as quickly as a safety match, and I reckon it's safe to say the same for dubstep now.

I can't remember which one, but there's a disclosure video in which a hot couple are eating face in a nightclub (obscured temporarily of course by the infectious face logo). Imagine for a second that this track didn't have the same sex-for-a-profit video that's typical of bands like "One Direction". Imagine also that the release didn't have a recognisable graphic on it and instead had a modest avant-garde style picture. Finally, imagine that didn't over-produce the music to extent where it sounds like they've polished the finish right off, and that they didn't put ostentatious billboards up everywhere. (sorry to bring up "One Direction" again, but I've seen the two acts sharing billboard space within spitting distance.) Add all this up, do you really think they'd be as big as they are now? More importantly do you think it'll last?

daytona1981

Disclosure (3) daytona1981

June 8, 2013
are you for real ??? they are pure genius !!!
PatButcher

Disclosure (3) PatButcher

June 4, 2013
Its a figure of speech, isn't it..

I'm not denying they've been popular for over two years, but my problem is who they're popular with. Originally, with their first releases I was a fan, one of which they gave away free and had a small vinyl release to go with it. They were pretty cool tracks and were clearly influenced by the likes of Joy Orbison etc. They were nothing too original, but they fit nicely with the movement at the time. Nowadays it just just seems like they're so young and naiive that they're trying anything they can to blow up and be as big as possible. They've come from an underground scene and now they have billboard ads up everywhere and are collaborating with every name and face around to get exposure (I would happily bet one of my limbs that they'll eventually go on to collaborate with somebody like rihanna..). Now its just music for the types of people that wear those hats that say "hype" on the front.. the type of people that have no idea of the background and context of the music they're listening to and go to music events with the sole purpose of being there to be seen.

Disclosure and their vapid fans may think they're bossing the UK scene at the moment, but the real artists are the ones like Four Tet, Homepark, Boddika, Joy O, Blawan, Lorca (I could go on for hours) who steer clear of the press where needs be, and release their music in limited quantities to keep it within the hands of the real fans and avoid it becoming an absolute travesty like releases such as "the face" and whatever their next album is called.

Onto "the face", have you noticed that no other producers in the scene are relying on a pure strategic marketing and a stupid logo to become viral and sell their music? Sure Joy O had his little doldrums lobster graphic, but he wasn't making videos of wannabe asos models dancing round in a club environment with that logo being flashed across their faces like some kind of subliminal message. (seriously that video was embarrassing, even worse than the music.. i was reminded horribly of x factor when I saw it.) Even the track names of those doldrums records were only printed in tiny font across the labels, not on 30 foot billboards in "hip" parts of London. These releases were way bigger in underground circles than anything disclosure have made, the only difference being that people actually had to do a little digging to find them, had to watch out for a limited release and be real fans to find out about it without advertising telling them they need to buy it.

Read this review, other people think this as well. http://drownedinsound.com/releases/17065/reviews/4145089
JS_Levan

Disclosure (3) JS_Levan

June 4, 2013
"flavour of the month"

been popular for over two years.

right mate, you sure know what you're talking about.
emsixteen

Disclosure (3) emsixteen

June 4, 2013
haha what a twat