Pastoral Symphony

Pastoral Symphony

The Pastoral Symphony was one of Australia's first manufactured pop bands, the brainchild of producer Jimmy Stewart (6) and pop manager, entrepreneur and physician Geoff Edelsten (founder of the defunct label Scope (5)). The single "Love Machine" was released by Festival in May 1968 and became a sizeable hit around the country.

The musicians who performed anonymously were in fact The Twilights (3): Peter Brideoake and Terry Britten on guitars, John Bywaters on bass, Laurie Pryor (2) on drums, and Paddy McCartney and Glenn Shorrock on backing vocals; augmenting them were vocalists Terry Walker (4) (The Hi Five, Ray Hoff & The Off Beats) and Ronnie Charles (The Groop (3)), with orchestral backing arranged and performed by The Johnny Hawker Orchestra.

The success of the record prompted Stewart and Edelsten to make plans for a follow-up single and the creation of a touring version of the group, but they were thwarted by a Melbourne band who had already registered the name Pastoral Symphony.


Pastoral Symphony Discography Tracks

Singles & EPs

The Pastoral Symphony* Love Machine Festival Records UK 1968 Sell This Version
FX-11,511 Pastoral Symphony / The Cam-Pact* Pastoral Symphony / The Cam-Pact* - Love Machine / Drawing Room(7", EP, Mono) Festival Records FX-11,511 Australia 1968 Sell This Version
K-6991 Pastoral Symphony Love Machine 1977(7") Festival Records K-6991 Australia 1977 Sell This Version

Videos (1) Edit