The Lumpen

The Black Panthers' official house band. The original members were Bill Calhoun (2), Clark (Santa Rita) Bailey, James Mott and Michael Torrance.
The Lumpen' named after the Marxist concept of lumpen proletariat.

It is important to stress that the Lumpen were Panthers first and foremost. Before, during and after the group, they did all the political and day-to-day work that was required of every rank and file comrade. The music was simply another facet of service to the Party and the Revolution.

They released only one single, but often took the popular soul songs and changed the lyrics to suit the revolution more.


The Lumpen Discography Tracks

Singles & EPs

BPP-4501-A The Lumpen - Free Bobby Now album art The Lumpen Free Bobby Now(7") Seize The Time BPP-4501-A US 1970 Sell This Version

Videos (2) Edit