Starship (2)

Starship (2)

Successor of Jefferson Starship. Following Jefferson Starship founder Paul Kantners leaving the band, a 1984 settlement prohibited ´the use of the Jefferson Starship band name unless all original members agreed to it. The remaining members shortened the name to just Starship and fronted by vocalist Grace Slick hit it's popular peak with the first release, the 1985 album "Knee Deep in the Hoopla". The album generated two #1 hits, "We Built This City" and "Sara". A third #1 hit, "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now", was achieved in 1987. In 1988 Grace Slick left Starship to join the reformed Jefferson Airplane for one album, then in 1989 announcing that she was retiring from music. In 1990, after the "Cannibals" album tour, the last remaining original member, Craig Chaquico, also left the band. A career spanding greatest hits compilation was released in 1991, and band manager Bill Thompson announced the band would record no more.

Starship (2) Discography


RPL-8317 Starship (2) Knee Deep In The Hoopla (Album) Grunt (3) RPL-8317 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
SFL1 0158 Starship (2) No Protection (Album) RCA, Grunt (3) SFL1 0158 Australia 1987 Sell This Version
STAR 1 Starship (2) Interview With Roger Scott 1st February 86(LP, Promo) RCA STAR 1 UK 1987 Sell This Version
9693-4-R Starship (2) Love Among The Cannibals (Album) RCA, RCA 9693-4-R Canada 1989 Sell This Version
PEG CD 686 GAS 0000686 PEG Starship (2) Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now(CD, Album) Pegasus PEG CD 686 GAS 0000686 PEG Europe 2009 Sell This Version
LNPD-05 Starship (2) Featuring Mickey Thomas Starship (2) Featuring Mickey Thomas - Loveless Fascination(CD, Album) Loud & Proud Records LNPD-05 US 2013 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

Lion 132 Starship (2) Johnny B. Goode (Single) Lion Records (4) Lion 132 US 1972 Sell This Version
FB-14393, FB 14393 Starship (2) Before I Go (Single) Grunt (3), Grunt (3) FB-14393, FB 14393 US 1985 Sell This Version
RPS-201 Starship (2) Sara (Single, Maxi) Grunt (3) RPS-201 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
RPS-212 Starship (2) Tomorrow Doesn't Matter Tonight (Single) Grunt (3) RPS-212 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
FT49930, FT 49930 Starship (2) We Built This City (Single, Maxi) Grunt (3) FT49930, FT 49930 Europe 1985 Sell This Version
FB49855 Starship (2) Tomorrow Doesn't Matter Tonight (Single, Maxi) RCA FB49855 Germany 1985 Sell This Version
PD2416 Starship (2) We Built This City(7", Single) RCA Victor PD2416 1985 Sell This Version
6964-7-G Starship (2) Set The Night To Music (Single) RCA, Grunt (3) 6964-7-G US 1987 Sell This Version
5308-7-G Starship (2) Beat Patrol (Single, Maxi) RCA 5308-7-G US 1987 Sell This Version
FT49758 Starship (2) Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now (Single, Maxi) Grunt (3) FT49758 Germany 1987 Sell This Version
FT 49704 3A Starship (2) It's Not Over ('Til It's Over) (Single, Maxi) Grunt (3), RCA FT 49704 3A Spain 1987 Sell This Version
RS - 2311 Starship (2) Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now(7", Single) RCA Victor RS - 2311 Bolivia 1987 Sell This Version
PB 49603 Starship (2) Wings Of A Lie(7") Grunt (3), BMG PB 49603 France 1987 Sell This Version
966 717-0 Starship (2) Wild Again (Single) Elektra 966 717-0 Germany 1988 Sell This Version
9109-2-RDJ Starship (2) I Didn't Mean To Stay All Night (Single) RCA 9109-2-RDJ US 1989 Sell This Version
PB 49357 Starship (2) It's Not Enough (Single) RCA PB 49357 UK 1988 Sell This Version
9194-2-RDJ Starship (2) I'll Be There(CD, Single, Promo) RCA 9194-2-RDJ US 1989 Sell This Version
PD 49180 Starship (2) Good Heart (Single) RCA PD 49180 Germany 1991 Sell This Version
COL-86018 Starship (2) We Built This City / Sara Grunt (3) COL-86018 US 1998 Sell This Version