Die Monte Negro's

Die Monte Negro's

Das jugoslawische Show-Orchester, die Monte Negro's was formed in January 1965 by a group of Yugoslav musicians in Essen, Germany. During a year and a half of their activity Die Monte Negro's played numerous venues across Germany, Switzerland and Austria, including their gigs at Reperbahn in Hamburg near the famous Star-Club. The band split in the summer of 1966 when four members continued under the name "Montenegro Five", while the leader Svetozar Purko Aleksić joined another Yugoslav expatriate ensemble "Ritam" forming with them yet another similarly named band "Die Sieben Montenegros". Die Monte Negro's released two LP records of covers of popular hits and instrumental easy listening music for the Center label in cooperation with the music production house and studio SABA in Villingen, Germany.

- Branimir Mijat Mijatović, drums
- Đoko Kraljević, vocals and bass
- Svetozar Purko Aleksić, clarinet and vibraphone, founder and band leader
- Dragoljub Saša Vagner, keyboards
- Slobodan Bodi Novović, guitar


Die Monte Negro's Discography


17 008 ST Die Monte Negro's Gesehen-Gehört-Begeistert(LP, Album) Center 17 008 ST Germany 1966 Sell This Version
17011 ST Die Monte Negro's Music In The Air(LP, Album) Center 17011 ST Germany 1967 Sell This Version