Gcrites7

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard as reviewed by Gcrites7

July 6, 2021
Really good psychedelic band, sadly their output lately has been not to stellar. Mostly albums with one or two good songs but filled with boring or unoriginal sounding songs. I used to praise them for trying new sounds that aren't common but its come down to either copying their best selling albums or other bands for example Tame Impala and Mild High Club. They are also pushing out variants after variants. Look at K.G. it has around ten different variants with more coming soon. Most of the greatest bands of all time eventually went down this path, its understandable. They want their music to be their career but people need to stop obsessing over them. Just because its King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard doesn't immediately mean its good. Just because I didn't like them don't burn me at the cross. Also, look at Murlocs and Pipe-Eye and Cavs. The band members music outside of KGTLW are writing, recording, and producing amazing albums that should be more recognized then the latest KGTLW releases.
StayAtOhm

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard as reviewed by StayAtOhm

April 19, 2021
25 official albums in 10 years. Half a dozen or so of them, live albums. More color variances and special editions than is even close to reasonable. I bought a few, saw em live once, even. But how does anyone still buy into this? It's a marketing-campaign for mech, far more than a band.
CripplingNiles

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard CripplingNiles

June 25, 2021
Seems like pretty basic supply and demand. It wouldn't continue if people weren't choosing to support their music.
TheodoreLovesVinyl

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard TheodoreLovesVinyl

June 17, 2021
kennice
It's not as it's subjective that these guys are prolific. By my count it's 18 LPs in 9 years, not counting the demos and the live records. And I mean, Eric Moore, who is Flightless, was in the band up until this past August. They're just record geeks through and through. So no, it's a band, and a very good one, who does things their own weird and fun way.

idk about everyone else but all I'm reading is FACTS
Castamundo

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard Castamundo

June 6, 2021
Just wanted to add that these guys have given away the masters for several releases. For free.
https://kinggizzardandthelizardwizard.com/bootlegger
StayAtOhm

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard StayAtOhm

April 21, 2021
Alright then. Just seems like a modern spin on the Grateful Dead business model.
kennice

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard kennice

April 21, 2021
It's not as it's subjective that these guys are prolific. By my count it's 18 LPs in 9 years, not counting the demos and the live records. And I mean, Eric Moore, who is Flightless, was in the band up until this past August. They're just record geeks through and through. So no, it's a band, and a very good one, who does things their own weird and fun way.
Euphonics

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard as reviewed by Euphonics

April 4, 2021
Hype usually turns me off. Hoards of suburban white boys nerding out over something to the degree that there are entire message boards, fansites, bootleg merch, and astronomical prices for one-hour-old "collectibles" doesn't typically draw me in. I'm weary of cultish groupthink. When a cult is politically engaged, it can result in highly destructive behavior—when they're artistically engaged, it can result in blindly fawning over work that is uninspired or just plain bad.

That said, King Gizz still holds it down. I have followed them since Mind Fuzz came out, and in that time, they have managed to accumulate a rabid international following while maintaining their creativity and keeping the soul of their music alive. Their aesthetic is unique. Their sound is consistent. Perhaps due to having two drummers, their rhythm section never allows their songs to flail off into infinity. They always maintain a certain momentum, while leaving enough space for excitement and surprises at every turn. They are endlessly creative and almost frustratingly talented, which means that very few critics can legitimately dislike them. And since they're so versatile, they have at least one song (but more likely dozens of songs) for every listener, regardless of tastes.

Their albums dependably push sonic envelopes and exacerbate music-industry norms. The production value has increased significantly over the years, giving way to albums that are evermore sophisticated holistic conceptual designs. They rarely produce a 'batch of songs' but rather feature-length audiological romps through the overactive imaginations of six young men who never seem satisfied with the periods at the end of their sentences.

I'm not sure how long this marathon can last, but we can all consider ourselves fortunate to be alive at a time when we can witness the King Gizzard phenomenon.

[written Spring, 2021; their most recent release being "L.W."]
breakaway

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard breakaway

April 12, 2021
They only have one drummer anymore as of somewhere in 2020 though, but yeah the hype is very very very much deserved in this case. There's been some records I didn't like mostly because of the style they chose but overall this band is insanely good.
Euphonics

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard Euphonics

April 4, 2021
PS, if any youngsters want to see a non-authoritative list of ranked albums, click here :)