The Hope Blister

The Hope Blister

The Hope Blister were an ambient band, composed of singer Louise Rutkowski, former Levitation and then current Dark Star bass player Laurence O'Keefe and string arranger Audrey Riley.
The band was founded by 4AD Records owner Ivo Watts-Russell and was something of a continuation of the This Mortal Coil project, but with a fixed line-up and focused on cover versions. The band released two albums's OK in 1998 and Underarms (featuring vocals by Momus' Nick Currie) in 1999, with the band splitting that year following Watts-Russell's retirement from the music industry. An expanded version of Underarms was released in 2005 as Underarms And Sideways, featuring a bonus disc of remixes.

The Hope Blister Discography


8 45925 2 The Hope Blister ...Smile's OK (Album) 4AD 8 45925 2 Italy 1998 Sell This Version
4AD M2 The Hope Blister Underarms (Album) 4AD 4AD M2 UK 1999 Sell This Version
none The Hope Blister Sideways(CDr, Album, Promo) 4AD none UK 2005 Sell This Version
CAD 2517 CD The Hope Blister Underarms And Sideways (Album) 4AD CAD 2517 CD UK 2005 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

MRPR 1027-2 The Hope Blister ...Smile's OK (Maxi, Single) Mammoth Records MRPR 1027-2 US 1998 Sell This Version