Formed in 1987 in Tampa, Florida by former Morbid Angel drummer Mike Browning, Nocturnus stood out from the Death Metal crowd for their heavy use keyboards and science fiction themed lyrics (both virtually non-existent in extreme metal at the time).

Following the release of their second full-length album Thresholds, disputes emerged within the band regarding copyright ownership of the name Nocturnus, as well as lyrical direction. Following these altercations, Mike Browning left the group as the remainder of the band began writing their third album with Browning's replacement James Marcinek. Unfortunately shortly after this, Nocturnus were dropped from their label, Earache, and managed to release a two-track, self-titled EP on Moribund Records before splitting up in 1993.

In 1999, the band briefly reunited to release Ethereal Tomb, however by 2002 they had officially disbanded.


Nocturnus - The Key album art Nocturnus The Key (Album) Earache US 1990 Sell This Version
Nocturnus - Thresholds album art Nocturnus Thresholds (Album) Earache Japan 1992 Sell This Version
Nocturnus - Ethereal Tomb album art Nocturnus Ethereal Tomb (Album) Season Of Mist Poland 1999 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

001 Nocturnus - Nocturnus album art Nocturnus Nocturnus(Cass, EP) Not On Label 001 US 1987 Sell This Version
none Nocturnus - The Science Of Horror album art Nocturnus The Science Of Horror(Cass) Not On Label (Nocturnus Self-released) none US 1988 Sell This Version
Nocturnus - Nocturnus album art Nocturnus Nocturnus (EP, Single) Moribund Records US 1993 Sell This Version


Nocturnus - The Nocturnus Demos album art Nocturnus The Nocturnus Demos (Comp) Karmageddon Media US 2004 Sell This Version


CT001 Nocturnus - A Farewell To Planet Earth album art Nocturnus A Farewell To Planet Earth(DVD-V, NTSC) Chaos Theory CT001 US 2004 Sell This Version