Thrash Metal (Heavy Metal) band from Weil am Rhein (Germany).

Destruction was formed in 1983 by Marcel Schirmer alias Schmier (bass, vocals), Mike Sifringer (guitar) and Tommy Sandmann (drums).

They made a rather raw debut with 1984's mini-album Sentence Of Death, but quickly refined their sound into potent, powerful thrash for the excellent Infernal Overkill.

Second guitarist Harry Wilkens joined following the recording of the equally ferocious Eternal Devastation to bolster the live sound, although Sandmann also departed to be replaced by Oliver Kaiser, and the pair made their debut on the Mad Butcher EP.

Release From Agony saw the band make full use of the extra dimension the second guitar added, although their increasing musical dexterity and more intricate song structures did nothing to temper Destruction's aggression and heaviness, and the band began to extend themselves abroad, playing with Motörhead across Europe and on a few dates of Slayer's US tour.

Live Without Sense was an adequate display of the band's onstage power, but Destruction's fortunes took a downturn after they supported Celtic Frost on their Cold Lake UK tour. Internal dissent led to Schmier's departure, with the rest of the band electing to pursue a more melodic direction.

Cracked Brain was recorded with new bassist Christian Engler and stand-in vocalist Andre Grieder, but was disappointing. Further credibility was lost with a pointless cover version of the Knack's "My Sharona', and Destruction soon folded.

The band re-formed in the mid-90s with new members Thomas Rosenmerkel (vocals) and Michael Piranio (guitars) to record the Destruction and Them Not Me EPs, and 1996"s The Least Successful Human Cannonball, all of which were released on their own Brain Butcher label. Sifringer and Schmier inaugurated a full-scale reformation in 1999, recruiting new drummer Sven Herwig to record All Hell Breaks Loose.

Additional notes:
Arguably the first German thrash band. Their original name was Knight of Demon, but that was changed after a few weeks. They went from an Iron Maiden-esque sound to one heavily influenced by Venom in a matter of weeks.

In the early 90's Flemming Ronsdorf (Artillery) was asked to join Destruction as new vocalist. He rehearsed with the band, but didn't join because the label didn't want to send him money in advance before the upcoming tour (according to Ronsdorf).

The releases between 1994 and 1998 have been disowned by the band and are now classed as "Neo-Destruction" and not part of their offical discography.

Schmier performed guest vocals on the 2006 album "The Winter Wake" by the Folk Metal band Elvenking.

Current line-up:
Marcel Schirmer alias Schmier - Bass & Vocals (1982-1989, 1999-)
Mike Sifringer - Guitar (1982-)
Damir Eskic - Guitar (2019-)
Randy Black - Drums (2018-)

Former/past member(s)

André Grieder (Poltergeist (Che)) (1990)
Thomas Rosenmerkel (Ephemera’s Party, Jesus Chrysler Superskunk) (1993-1999)

Harry Wilkens (1987-1990)
Michael Piranio (Ephemera’s Party, Jesus Chrysler Superskunk) (1993-1999)

Christian Engler (Necronomicon (Ger)) (1994-1998)

Thomas "Tommy" Sandmann (1982-1987)
Oliver "Olli" Kaiser (1987-1999)
Sven Vormann (Jesus Chrysler Superskunk, Abandoned, Cryonix, The Lie) (1999-2002)
Marc Reign (2002-2010)
Wawrzyniec Dramowicz (2010-2018)

Chris Witchhunter (Sodom) ('Eternal Devastation' tour) (R.I.P. 7th September 2008)


none Destruction - Bestial Invasion Of Hell album art Destruction Bestial Invasion Of Hell Not On Label (Destruction Self-released) none Germany 1984 Sell This Version
SH 0020 Destruction - Sentence Of Death album art Destruction Sentence Of Death (MiniAlbum, EP) Steamhammer SH 0020 Germany 1984 Sell This Version
SPV 08-1806 Destruction - Infernal Overkill album art Destruction Infernal Overkill (Album) Steamhammer SPV 08-1806 Germany 1985 Sell This Version
BRC4 1977 Destruction - Eternal Devastation album art Destruction Eternal Devastation (Album) Steamhammer, Steamhammer BRC4 1977 Canada 1986 Sell This Version
SHC 7504, 85-7506 Destruction - Release From Agony album art Destruction Release From Agony (Album) Steamhammer, Steamhammer, Steamhammer SHC 7504, 85-7506 Europe 1987 Sell This Version
12-1896 Destruction - Mad Butcher album art Destruction Mad Butcher (MiniAlbum, EP, Maxi) Steamhammer 12-1896 Germany 1986 Sell This Version
SPV 08-7578 Destruction - Live - Without Sense album art Destruction Live - Without Sense (Album, EP, Single) Steamhammer SPV 08-7578 Germany 1989 Sell This Version
NUK136 Destruction - Cracked Brain album art Destruction Cracked Brain (Album) Steamhammer NUK136 UK 1990 Sell This Version
BBC 0714 Destruction - Them Not Me album art Destruction Them Not Me(CD, MiniAlbum) Brain Butcher Compact BBC 0714 Germany 1995 Sell This Version
BBC 0715 Destruction - The Least Successful Human Cannonball album art Destruction The Least Successful Human Cannonball(CD, Album) Brain Butcher Compact BBC 0715 Germany 1998 Sell This Version
NB 494-2, ROC 092-01 Destruction - All Hell Breaks Loose album art Destruction All Hell Breaks Loose (Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB 494-2, ROC 092-01 Germany 2000 Sell This Version
PSCL 9079-4 Destruction - The Antichrist album art Destruction The Antichrist (Album) Nuclear Blast PSCL 9079-4 Malaysia 2001 Sell This Version
KICP-909 Destruction - Alive Devastation album art Destruction Alive Devastation (Album) Nexus (3) KICP-909 Japan 2003 Sell This Version
NB 1170-2 Destruction - Metal Discharge album art Destruction Metal Discharge (Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB 1170-2 Germany 2003 Sell This Version
AFM 096-1 Destruction - Inventor Of Evil album art Destruction Inventor Of Evil (Album) AFM Records AFM 096-1 Germany 2005 Sell This Version
AFM 147-2 Promo Destruction - Thrash Anthems album art Destruction Thrash Anthems (Album) AFM Records AFM 147-2 Promo Germany 2006 Sell This Version
AFM 2236 Destruction - D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N. album art Destruction D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N. (Album) AFM Records AFM 2236 Germany 2008 Sell This Version
ICARUS 586 Destruction - The Curse Of The Antichrist - Live In Agony album art Destruction The Curse Of The Antichrist - Live In Agony (Album) AFM Records ICARUS 586 Argentina 2009 Sell This Version
EMCD 0160 Destruction - Day Of Reckoning album art Destruction Day Of Reckoning (Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast EMCD 0160 South Korea 2011 Sell This Version
NB 2881-0, 27361 28810 Destruction - Spiritual Genocide album art Destruction Spiritual Genocide (Album, EP) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB 2881-0, 27361 28810 Germany 2012 Sell This Version
NB 3293-2, 27361 32932 Destruction - Under Attack album art Destruction Under Attack (Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB 3293-2, 27361 32932 Europe 2016 Sell This Version
GQCS-90469 Destruction - Thrash Anthems II album art Destruction Thrash Anthems II (Album) Not On Label (Destruction Self-released) GQCS-90469 Japan 2017 Sell This Version
NB CL 004 Destruction - Born To Perish album art Destruction Born To Perish (Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast NB CL 004 Chile 2019 Sell This Version
GQCS-90926 Destruction - Born To Thrash (Live In Germany) album art Destruction Born To Thrash (Live In Germany) (Album) Nuclear Blast, Nuclear Blast GQCS-90926 Japan 2020 Sell This Version
NPR1075DP Destruction - Live Attack album art Destruction Live Attack (Album) Napalm Records NPR1075DP USA & Europe 2021 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 7, 2022
Where is live without sense??? This is not listed here.. Someone investigate ..............


October 19, 2011

Videos (113) Edit