Monwabisi Yekani

Real Name:
Monwabisi Dennis Yekani
South African singer - songwriter and producer.

the Monwa and Sun duo was formed when Monwabisi Dennis Yekani met Poth Nkotsoe.
As already mentioned, Monwabisi had been in music for some time already and with the younger Poth they made a formidable team that released their debut album Majekeje on the Cool Spot label. Their follow-up in 1989 was "Tigers Don’t Cry" featuring the title track as well as Makonrad. All the music was written by Monwabisi, engineered and produced by Mally Watson. In 1990 they both went solo. Monwa’s debut album was Aweyo, still on the Cool Spot label. It featured the title track and 1990 written and arranged by Monwabisi and produced by Mally Watson who also engineered it. In 1991 Monwa followed Poth to Tusk Music and released Mama Kuse, a self-written album produced by the same production team that had worked on Sun’s album.



SPOT (V) 001 Monwabisi Yekani - Majekeje album art Monwa* And Sun (31) Monwa* And Sun (31) - Majekeje(LP, Album) Cool Spot Productions SPOT (V) 001 South Africa 1988 Sell This Version
Monwabisi Yekani - Tigers Don't Cry album art Monwa*, Sun (31) Monwa*, Sun (31) - Tigers Don't Cry (Album) Cool Spot South Africa 1989 Sell This Version
Monwabisi Yekani - Aweyo album art Monwa* Aweyo (Album) Cool Spot South Africa 1990 Sell This Version
L4 SPOT (EK) 021 Monwabisi Yekani - President Jive album art Monwa* President Jive(Cass, Album) Cool Spot Productions L4 SPOT (EK) 021 South Africa 1996 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

WEAP 1009 Monwabisi Yekani - Mama Kuse album art Monwa* Mama Kuse(12", Promo) Tusk Music WEAP 1009 South Africa 1991 Sell This Version
DOC PRES 1 Monwabisi Yekani - Cool  Spot album art Doc Shebeleza / President Monwa* Doc Shebeleza / President Monwa* - Cool Spot(12", EP, Promo) Not On Label DOC PRES 1 South Africa Unknown Sell This Version

Videos (5) Edit