Hair / Glam Metal (Heavy Metal) band from San Diego, California (USA).

The name Ratt came into being in the beginning of the 1980s, although the band's roots can be traced back to the mid '70s and the band Mickey Ratt, which was fronted by vocalist Stephen Pearcy. By 1983, after cycling through a number of different musicians and relocating to Los Angeles, where they would play a large part in the growing glam scene, the "classic" line-up of Pearcy, guitarists Warren DiMartini ad Robbin "King" Crosby, bassist Juan Croucier, and drummer Bobby "Blotz" Blotzer was in place. From 1984 through 1990, the band would record and release 5 commercially successful albums. By the turn of the decade, though, the band's fortunes were declining as popular tastes in music were changing and Crosby, once one of the driving forces in the band, found himself mired in a heroin addiciton that ultimately led to his removal from Ratt. After substituting guitarist Michael Schenker for Crosby for touring purposes, Ratt released what would be the final single of their initial run, "Nobody Rides for Free" (from the soundtrack for the movie "Point Break") in 1991 as a four-piece. The following year, Pearcy and DiMartini left the band, effectively ending Ratt.

In 1997, the members met to discuss the possibility of a reunion. Croucier declined to join and it was decided that Crosby was in no condition to participate (still suffering from drug addiction, the guitarist was severely overweight and HIV positive, a fact he would publicly disclose in 2001; he would die of a heroin overdose the following year). Robbie Crane was brought in to replace Croucier and Pearcy would occasionally handle second guitar duties. This line-up released a self-titled album in 1999 but it did not have the same commercial success as their previous releases. Pearcy left the band the following year and began touring as "Ratt featuring Stephen Pearcy". This led to lawsuit over right to the name "Ratt" between the singer and Blotzer and DiMartini, from which the latter two emerged victorious, although the issue of the rights to the name remains a point of contention for all the surviving members of the classic line-up.

Blotzer and DiMartini would tour throughout the first half of the 2000s under the Ratt banner with several different vocalists and second guitarists before reuniting with Pearcy in 2006. In 2009, the band, with Robbie Crane still playing bass and former Quiet Riot guitarist Carlos Cavazo on board, recorded the well-received LP "Infestation". However, owing to tensions between the members, the band announced that it would be going on indefinite hiatus the following year. In 2012, Crane announced that he was no longer a part of Ratt. Shortly thereafter, it was announced that Juan Croucier had returned to the group. In the spring of 2014, Pearcy announced that he was leaving the band again, citing unresolved personal and business tensions. In the summer of 2015, both Bobby Blotzer and Juan Croucier launched separate touring projects for the purpose of performing Ratt songs, with Blotzer stating the DiMartini refused to participate in any Ratt-related touring unless it included Pearcy and Croucier. In late 2015, the drummer announced that his touring band was now the official version of Ratt, a move that brought legal action from DiMartini
Viewing All | Ratt

Ratt Discography


A4-80143 Ratt Out Of The Cellar (Album) Atlantic, Atlantic A4-80143 US 1984 Sell This Version
7567-781257-2 Ratt Invasion Of Your Privacy (Album) Atlantic, Atlantic 7567-781257-2 Germany 1985 Sell This Version
781 683-1 Ratt Dancing Undercover (Album) Atlantic, Atlantic 781 683-1 Italy 1986 Sell This Version
7 81929-1, 81929-1 Ratt Reach For The Sky (Album) Atlantic 7 81929-1, 81929-1 US 1988 Sell This Version
AMCY-701 Ratt Detonator (Album) Atlantic, Atlantic AMCY-701 Japan 1990 Sell This Version
VICP-60050 Ratt Collage (Album) DeROCK Records VICP-60050 Japan 1997 Sell This Version
495075 2, COL 495075 2 Ratt Ratt (Album) Portrait 495075 2, COL 495075 2 1999 Sell This Version
RR PROMO 1187 Ratt Infestation (Album) Roadrunner Records, Loud & Proud Records RR PROMO 1187 2010 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

SP-001 Ratt Drivin' On E(7", Single) Pearcy SP-001 US 1980 Sell This Version
MFN 2 Ratt Ratt (EP, Album, MiniAlbum, Maxi) Time Coast Music MFN 2 UK 1983 Sell This Version
7-99669 Ratt You Think You're Tough (Single) Time Coast Communications 7-99669 US 1983 Sell This Version
A9573T Ratt Round And Round (Single) Atlantic A9573T UK 1984 Sell This Version
PR 667 Ratt Lack Of Communication (Single) Atlantic PR 667 US 1984 Sell This Version
789 618-7 Ratt Wanted Man (Single) Atlantic 789 618-7 Germany 1984 Sell This Version
No Catalog Number Ratt U Got It(7", S/Sided, Single, Fle) Time Coast Communications No Catalog Number 1984 Sell This Version
P-2015 Ratt You're In Love (Single) Atlantic P-2015 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
7-89546 Ratt Lay It Down (Single, Maxi) Atlantic 7-89546 Australia 1985 Sell This Version
789 354-7 Ratt Dance (Single, Maxi) Atlantic 789 354-7 Germany 1986 Sell This Version
P-2059 Ratt What You Give Is What You Get(7") Atlantic P-2059 Japan 1986 Sell This Version
PR 1024 Ratt Slip Of The Lip(12", Promo) Atlantic PR 1024 US 1986 Sell This Version
PR 983 Ratt Body Talk (Single) Atlantic PR 983 US 1986 Sell This Version
7-84992 Ratt Round And Round / Wanted Man(7", Single) Atlantic 7-84992 US 1987 Sell This Version
07P7-6026 Ratt Way Cool Jr. (Single) Atlantic 07P7-6026 Japan 1988 Sell This Version
PR 2635-2 Ratt I Want A Woman (Single) Atlantic PR 2635-2 US 1988 Sell This Version
A 7844 Ratt Lovin' You's A Dirty Job (Single) Atlantic A 7844 UK 1990 Sell This Version