The Soft Pink Truth

Real Name:
Drew Daniel
The Soft Pink Truth (SPT) is a solo music project of Drew Daniel, one-half of the Baltimore-based experimental electronics duo Matmos. In 2001, a famous UK house producer Matthew Herbert dared Daniel that he couldn't produce a decent house record, which leads to a creation of The Soft Pink Truth.

Herbert released debut SPT tracks on his Soundslike label, followed by a full-length album Do You Party? in 2003. The second album Do You Want New Wave (Or Do You Want The Soft Pink Truth?) consisted of electronic interpretations of UK punk and American hardcore classics. The title of the album is referring to a Minutemen's song 'Do You Want New Wave Or Do You Want The Truth?'

The Soft Pink Truth went on an extended hiatus due to Daniel being preoccupied with academic work and Matmos, until the project resurrected in 2014 with a new album Why Do The Heathen Rage? on Thrill Jockey. Based on the same concept as D.Y.W.N.W.O.D.Y.W.T.S.P.T., this recording included covers of various black metal songs, with guest vocals by Antony Hegarty, Terence Hannum of Locrian, Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak and Owen Gardner of Horse Lords.

The most recent album Why Pay More? was self-released by The Soft Pink Truth on Bandcamp under "name your price" model. The original material dates back to October 2007, when Daniel announced The Soft Pink Tube project with each track based solely on audio samples retrieved from YouTube through search queries "step", "looking", "acapella", "awesome" and "party." The project was abandoned after just one track, and eventually finished in November 2015.

The Soft Pink Truth also produced remixes for Björk, Smyglyssna, Brooks and Dani Siciliano, Tussle, Sketch Show, Otto Von Schirach, Drop The Lime, Eats Tapes, Fischerspooner, Hawnay Troof, Quartet, Subtle, Telepathe, Phiiliip, Merimell, Kevin Blechdom, Roots Manuva, Grizzly Bear, and Franz Ferdinand.