Egg (2)

Band formed in 1969 by Dave Stewart (organ), Mont Campbell (bass/vocals) and Clive Brooks (drums), after the disbanding of their previous band Uriel (7) when Steve Hillage left for college. Egg signed a record deal with Decca in May 1969. Some time later they were offered to record an Uriel album, but since the musicians were under contract with another company, Uriel reformed to record under the name Arzachel with musicians using pseudonyms.

Egg toured the UK and recorded two highly acclaimed albums (Egg, The Polite Force). After struggling for over a year with hardly enough gigs to survive, Egg eventually broke up in July 1972, leaving almost an album's worth of unrecorded compositions. So when the opportunity came, in the summer of 1974, to record a third album for the Virgin sub-label Caroline Records, the trio was re-united for "The Civil Surface", but the band was not in existence anymore.

The first album shows some Soft Machine influences and a focus on unusual time signatures that Dave Stewart would also explore with later bands Hatfield And The North and National Health. Egg and Stewart's other projects tend to get lumped into the 'Canterbury Scene' with the extended Soft Machine and Gong families of musicians.


DES 18039 Egg (2) - Egg album art Egg (2) Egg (Album) Deram DES 18039 US 1970 Sell This Version
SML 1074 Egg (2) - The Polite Force album art Egg (2) The Polite Force (Album) Deram SML 1074 UK 1970 Sell This Version
C1510, C 1510 Egg (2) - The Civil Surface album art Egg (2) The Civil Surface (Album) Caroline Records, Caroline Records C1510, C 1510 UK 1974 Sell This Version
CD69-7202 Egg (2) - The Metronomical Society album art Egg (2) The Metronomical Society(CD, Album, Dig) Egg Archive CD69-7202 UK 2007 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

DM 269 Egg (2) - Seven Is A Jolly Good Time album art Egg (2) Seven Is A Jolly Good Time (Single) Deram DM 269 UK 1969 Sell This Version