Aerial FX

Aerial FX

The band line-up was:
Chris Hufford - Vocals, rhythm guitar
Bryce Edge - Keyboards, backing vocals
Richard Hart - Lead guitar
Andy Melton - Bass
Simon Bladon - Drums

Around 1980/81 Oxford based band Exit 13 changed their sound & changed their name to Aerial FX. They signed a publishing deal with Island Music, released 2 singles ("So Hard" on Square Records & then "Take It From Here" on Island Records), & then bagged enough studio time to record "Watching The Dance" LP which was released on Kamera Records along with a single "Instant Feelings".

They played shows around London & the UK throughout that period. Around 1982/83 the focus changed to studio recording & Melton & Bladon left the band. The other 3 continued writing & recording & EMI Records signed them mid 1983. Unfortunately there were creative disagreements with EMI & they didn't progress out of the studio, finally being dropped at the end of 1984.

Their studio experiments continued for another couple of years but nothing was released & they stopped making music as AFX around 1986.

Nowadays Chris Hufford is well-known in music industry as the manager of Radiohead, Supergrass and Gamma Hayes, he also produced some of Radiohead's early recordings, a group he would help steer to massive global success. Chris also run his new project Anti Atlas (Downtempo, IDM, ambient)

In the year of 2010 a collection of 12 previously unreleased AFX tracks from 1980 and 1984 was released on CD by Other Voices Records.


Aerial FX Discography Tracks


KAM 008 Aerial FX Watching The Dance(LP, Album) Kamera Records KAM 008 UK 1982 Sell This Version
Aerial FX Same River Twice (Comp) Other Voices Records Russia 2010 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

SQS 3 Aerial FX So Hard(7", Single) Square SQS 3 UK 1980 Sell This Version
WIP6698 Aerial FX Take It From Here(7", Single) Island Records WIP6698 UK & Ireland 1981 Sell This Version
ERA 012 Aerial Fx Instant Feelings / 5: 15(7", Single) Kamera Records ERA 012 France 1982 Sell This Version

Videos (13) Edit