Son Boricua

Son Boricua

Real Name:
Son Boricua
From the island of Puerto Rico, Son Boricua is led by musical director Jose Mangual Jr. Other group members include Jimmy Sabater (timbales, vocals), Frankie Morales (vocals), Hiram de Jesus (piano), Papo Pepin (congas), Willie Amadeo (coros), Sonny Rivera (vibes), Ray Martinez (bass), Ruben Rodriguez (bass), Ray Colon (bongos, congas), and several others

Son Boricua self-titled release on Caiman Records was a smash hit, with each of the songs being a cover song rather than a self-penned effort. Some of the songs performed on the album include Rafel Hernandez's "Buen Borincano," Joe Cain's "Oye Listen," Tito Puente's "Mambo Diablo," and Sonny Rivera's "Blues for Louie". ~ Jason Birchmeier, All Music Guide, Salsa Blvdl From:



Son Boricua Discography


CCD-9053 Jimmy Sabater Con Son Boricua Jimmy Sabater Con Son Boricua - "Mo"(CD, Album, Dig) Cobo Music CCD-9053 US 2002 Sell This Version
CCD 9056 Son Boricua Clasicos 60's(CD, Album) Cobo Music Inc. CCD 9056 US 2003 Sell This Version
b60 6331 Son Boricua Fabulosos 70's(CD, Album) Envidia b60 6331 Spain 2004 Sell This Version