Hest0n

Scientist Hest0n

February 16, 2021
Can someone explain to me the situation with Henry 'Junjo' Lawes, I have read a few other comments on some of the Scientists releases and there are a lot of accusations flying about.
AudioJunkee410

Scientist AudioJunkee410

May 18, 2017
Does anyone know what the deal is with the releases on merchbar.com? They have the Junjo releases available on there as well so it could just be the reissue from Russia. Merchbar is linked to the scientists spotify page, not like that makes it official but it definitely sparked my interest.

https://www.merchbar.com/search?q=scientist
DerekMullings

Scientist DerekMullings

December 4, 2016
Does anyone have Sometime Lover, 12", on Black Ovation label? Triston Palmer Inna Roots Radics Drum and Bass.
space.gato

Scientist space.gato

November 8, 2016
One of my favorite producers/musicians of all time. He has made so many timeless tracks that still sound fresh today. His music always puts me in a better mood. Heavyweight Dub Champion, Scientific Dub, The Space Invaders, The Seducer Dub Wise and High Priest Of Dub are all great. Would love some of the originals on vinyl
DerekMullings

Scientist DerekMullings

December 4, 2016
space.gato
One of my favorite producers/musicians of all time. He has made so many timeless tracks that still sound fresh today. His music always puts me in a better mood. Heavyweight Dub Champion, Scientific Dub, The Space Invaders, The Seducer Dub Wise and High Priest Of Dub are all great. Would love some of the originals on vinyl


I have Heavyweight Dub and Scientist Meets the Space Invaders on vinyl. :-)
Jah_Roots

Scientist as reviewed by Jah_Roots

May 25, 2016
The only man to surpass the genius mixing of King Tubby. Prince Jammy can't compare!
dub-bud

Scientist dub-bud

September 2, 2019
Prince Jammy certainly can compare to both Scientist & King Tubby.
All 3 have different styles & strengths, depending on the riddim, recording performance & engineering; each has a different approach & emphasis.

Jammy was the most successful producer of the three & has also had the longest career among them all.
Scientists' best work was all done between 78 -82, when he was primarily working at Tubbys & on productions for Linval Thompson, H.J.Lawes, Osssie & Jah Thomas, Tad's; & Bunny Lee ...most featuring the same musicians -the Roots Radics.

Also, if you are familiar with dub plates then there's no-doubt that Jammy's mixes could top anyone's if the 'ingredients' were right.
There are several other great mixers/dubbers that are less venerated, mostly due to less prolific output or anonymity among the credits.

To imagine either Scientist, Tubby or Jammy as simply the 'best' is akin to saying potatoes should only be eaten mashed or there is only one 'top' cook in the whole world...
variety is the spice of life & an appreciation of many flavors should also aid in the appreciation of subtle skills & states of mind. These skilled men sculpt ambiance, often among a 'group' of music lovers , the vibe in the studio is essential to the final mix & often that was orchestrated by the producer (re- Deep Roots -Bunny Lee segment).
DerekMullings

Scientist DerekMullings

December 4, 2016
Jah_Roots
The only man to surpass the genius mixing of King Tubby. Prince Jammy can't compare!

No disrespect to Jammy, but he lacked the finesse of Tubby and the inventiveness of Scientist.
ischivezon

Scientist as reviewed by ischivezon

April 5, 2016
absolute genius. arguably one of the best artists to ever come out of jamaica.
Mad-Meex

Scientist Mad-Meex

June 22, 2018
Indeed! What an inspiration... really in tune with the music and an incomparable insight. He is also a great guy whom I met twice at gigs in London, very humble and approachable, quality mixing all the way.
WALTHAMSTOW007

Scientist as reviewed by WALTHAMSTOW007

August 6, 2014
I can't believe no one's reviewed this fella before me??? Born 18th April 1960, Scientist is true a legend, he took Dub Reggae to a completely different level. Trained and mentored by the late, great, lamented King Tubby, he blew the scene into smithereens with his knowledge, skill and complete understanding of the mixing desk. You all know as well as I do that he quite comfortably sits along side the higher echelons of Jamaican genius, Lee Perry, King Tubby, Augustus Pablo, Prince Jammy, The Roots Radics, The Revolutionaries,The Upsetters, Bunny Lee, Joe Gibbs, to name but a few. The amount of sheer genius, raw talent that has come out of this tiny, little, Caribbean Island called Jamaica is unfathomable...... I am always in awe, Long may it reign.