Uncle Slam

Uncle Slam was an American crossover thrash band from Venice, LA, California, formed in 1984 under the name The Brood (5). The band was formed by vocalists and guitarists Jon Nelson, Todd Moyer, bassist John Flitcraft, and former Suicidal Tendencies drummer Amery Smith. After releasing their self-titled debut album in 1986, Flitcraft quit the band before they changed their name to Uncle Slam in 1987, and was replaced by Louiche Mayorga, who previously played bass alongside Smith in Suicidal Tendencies, but also soon left. He was briefly replaced by Bob Heathcote (who would later join Suicidal Tendencies) before Simon Oliver finally joined shortly after.

The first Uncle Slam album was "Say Uncle", released in 1988 through Caroline Records. Before the band could work on a follow-up to that album, Oliver left Uncle Slam in 1989 and was replaced by Angelo Espino. After Oliver returned in 1991, the band released their second album "Will Work for Food", in 1993 through Restless Records. Smith departed the band the following year and was replaced by another former Suicidal Tendencies member, R. J. Herrera.

With the lineup of Moyer, Oliver, and Herrera, the band recorded and released their third and final album, "When God Dies", in 1995 through Medusa Records. The band broke up that same year.


CAROL MC 1354 Uncle Slam - Say Uncle album art Uncle Slam Say Uncle (Album) Caroline Records CAROL MC 1354 US 1988 Sell This Version
RR 9080-2 Uncle Slam - Will Work For Food album art Uncle Slam Will Work For Food (Album) Restless Records RR 9080-2 Netherlands 1993 Sell This Version
7 72773-2 Uncle Slam - When God Dies album art Uncle Slam When God Dies (Album) Medusa Records (2), Restless Records 7 72773-2 Europe 1995 Sell This Version