the_gashman

Shackleton the_gashman

May 7, 2017
Is it right that Music For The Quiet Hour hasn't been released on vinyl? That seems like a real shame; love those tunes. I haven't seen it mentioned on here yet, but if you're into Shackleton you should check out Muslimgauze too - https://www.discogs.com/artist/484-Muslimgauze.
haemingw

Shackleton haemingw

November 8, 2017
Check again. There is a CD + 3x12“ listed for the release.
mvns

Shackleton mvns

September 27, 2017
I think he's pretty much influenced by Bryn Jones, some tracks are obviously inspired by him. If Bryn has anything close to spiritual successors, it would be Shackleton!
noodleplugreine

Shackleton noodleplugreine

July 12, 2016
A true artisan and master of the craft. And an absolute gent to boot. If you're lucky enough to see him perform you're likely to tell everyone for years. What a privilege to have seen him twice this year :)
spiral_stars

Shackleton as reviewed by spiral_stars

May 12, 2016
As of 2016 there isn't anyone out there doing anything near what this guy is doing. While his early works represented a triumph of ideas over technical abilities, as the second caught up with the first he has increasingly thrown genre limitations out the window to create a sound that is completely sui generis, running between tempos and feelings but sounding only like itself. I enthusiastically play the newer stuff in techno sets and let anyone who wants to complain deal with it. This is music meant to be heard and quite possibly meant to punish anyone who wishes to define this artist or his art too narrowly.
devin306

Shackleton devin306

July 6, 2013
edited over 2 years ago
If you see him live wear ear protection. I was deaf for days...
hooverdanny

Shackleton as reviewed by hooverdanny

February 22, 2013
The branch is weak.....has to be his finest moment so far.
He really needs to get rid of those pitter patter pitter patter tom toms he seems to have used on everything recently.
noodlzyaponsuki

Shackleton noodlzyaponsuki

February 1, 2017
terrible world we live in.. where people are forced to listen to shackleton records. even though they don't like those pitter patter pitter patter tom toms he seems to have used on everything recently.
n0m0re

Shackleton as reviewed by n0m0re

February 16, 2012
I'm surprised why nobody has made a review about this man. Shackleton is pretty much a genius and one of the pioneers of the darker and more tribal trends within dubstep. Believe it or not, I was actually introduced to dubstep because of him. He has been within the scene since nearly the beginning and continues to influence many to this day. And the best part about him is that he is still active in making new works, so I always keep looking forward to something new from him all the time.
chickenhoss

Shackleton chickenhoss

April 27, 2012
edited over 5 years ago
No exception with his latest on Woe to the Septic Heart (The Drawbar Organ / Music for the Quiet Hour). Deep bass, dancing toms and a wonderfully carnivalesque vibe. Three 12s and a CD, housed in a nice box with extra Zeke Clough artwork and words from Vengeance Tenfold. Go find ~ they'll be gone before you know it.
bratfordlad

Shackleton bratfordlad

April 26, 2012
Right on bro, Sam IS the man