The Idols (8)

The Idols (8)

The Idols were a four piece band from Rossendale and Bury, consisting of Mike Sax vocals, his brother Ray Sax bass, from Waterfoot, Rossendale. John Sykes lead guitar from Bury and Graham Bailey ex Beatmakers drummer, from Crawshawbooth, Rossendale. They were originally called Mike Sax and the Vikings, but changed to Mike Sax and the Idols on securing a record and publishing contract with Phillips (Mercury) record label, and Dix Music Publishers, with the Franz brothers, Johnny and Harold. "Don't Walk Away" released 1964. They became the "Idols" on their second release "My Little One" 1965. The Viking name was dropped because there was Carl Wayne and the Vikings already recording. At one time they were in the same stable as the Pedlars, Four Pennies and Hermans Hermits, under the John Lewis Agency. They were club rather than a progressive rock band, and shortly after a 3 month season in 1967 at the Red Lion, Rimini, Italy; they disbanded. Graham and Ray re-amerged a couple of years later along with Sean Watson, Lead guitar and singer who was in (Junior). But eventually hung up their respective instruments, and started thinking about work.
The band name was either The Idols or Mike Sax and the Idols, same four guys, so we couldn't work separately. Mike Sax and the Idols was the name on the first record, The Idols was the name on the second record. ( source: )


The Idols (8) Discography Tracks

Singles & EPs

MF 840 The Idols (8) Don't Walk Away / You Don't Care(7") Mercury MF 840 UK 1965 Sell This Version
Mcf154229 The Idols (8) Don't Walk Away / You Don't Care(7", Mono) Philips Mcf154229 Turkey 1965 Sell This Version

Videos (2) Edit