Day One

Day One

Day One consists of vocalist Phelim Byrne and multi-instrumentalist/producer Matthew Hardwidge. The duo began collaborating in the mid-’90s, blending the storytelling traditions of hip-hop and British folk along with a slew of musical influences. They were fortunate enough to find a collaborator in Mario Caldato Jr. (Beastie Boys, Beck, etc.) to work with on their projects he has co-produced all of their output to date. The duo was originally signed to Massive Attack’s label Melankolic, on which they released their debut album "Ordinary Man" in 2000 to great international success. They released their 2nd album, "Probably Art", in 2007. The group paved the way for artists such as The Streets in pioneering a unique new British rap style. Day One’s diversity is reflected in the various TV and movie soundtracks in which their music has featured, including: dark, teenage epic "Cruel Intentions", Emmy Award-winning US series "Six Feet Under", Channel 4 hit "Skins" and most recently the hit US movie "Easy A". The group's third album was recorded in Los Angeles in early 2015.

Day One Discography Tracks


Day One Ordinary Man (Album) Melankolic UK 1999 Sell This Version
Day One Probably Art (Album) One Little Indian Japan 2005 Sell This Version
85 Day One Intellectual Property(12xFile, FLAC) Society of Sound Music 85 2015

Singles & EPs

Day One I'm Doin' Fine (Single) Melankolic, Melankolic, Virgin UK 1999 Sell This Version
Day One Waiting For A Break (Single) Virgin, Melankolic Europe 1999 Sell This Version
Day One Ordinary Man (Single) Delabel, Melankolic France 2000 Sell This Version
Day One In Your Life (Maxi, Single) Melankolic UK 2000 Sell This Version
851TP7CDP Day One Bad Before Good(CD, Single, Promo) One Little Indian 851TP7CDP UK 2007 Sell This Version
917TP7CD Day One Probably Art(CD, Single, Car) One Little Indian 917TP7CD UK 2008 Sell This Version


Day One Ordinary Man (Sampler) Melankolic Europe 1999 Sell This Version