Mass Spectrometer

Mass Spectrometer

Mass Spectrometer was formed in Sheffield, England in 1999 by Michael Canning and Ilmars Gravis. Their first album, the 23 minute long 'Music for Engines in Overdrive' was released in 2004 and it includes contributions from electro artist Jonathan Canning and the late guitarist Carl Tyrrell, as well as a passage from the John Pilger book 'The New Rulers of the World'. The band undertook a hiatus to pursue other projects after a London show in 2005 but in 2009 regrouped with new members drummer Richard Beech and guitarist Wayne Bennett and began sessions for the 'Guild Hall' EP that was released in 2014. Their 2016 EP 'Périphérique' featured a move away from the guitar oriented music of their previous releases into more horn and keyboard based work but with the same emphasis on propulsive rhythms and counter rhythm. Mass Spectrometer played their first public show in 11 years in Leeds in September 2016.


Mass Spectrometer Discography Tracks


GJ08 Mass Spectrometer Music For Engines In Overdrive(CDr, Album) Ghostjogger GJ08 UK 2004 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

GJ9 Mass Spectrometer Guild Hall(CD, EP) Ghostjogger GJ9 UK 2014 Sell This Version
GJ10 Mass Spectrometer Périphérique(CD, EP) Ghostjogger GJ10 UK 2016 Sell This Version