Valhalla (19)

Valhalla (19)

Led then by the vocalist and founder Andréa Tavares, the Valhalla band started its long and intense journey in 1990. There was initially an unpretentious proposal of putting together friends to create a heavy and aggressive death metal and the first step was given when the sisters Andréa and Adriana in the late 1988 put together a band called Phobia. Without any recorded sounds registered and no live performances, Phobia is extinguished with the guitarist Adriana leaving the band. However the taste in music and the same ideals put Andréa and her other sister Alessandra Tavares(guitar) LONGING to start the Valhalla activities, writing songs and performing a few shows.

In the beginning of 1992 the band officially registers its work with the record of the first Demo-tape, that also brings back the sister Adriana Tavares (guitar) in the group, bringing more cohesion to the proposal of carrying a more extreme conduct kept in those 20 years of the existence of Valhalla.

In the intention to progress musically the band releases in 1994, by the already extinct Sub Way, the LP named "...In The Darkness of Limb", this register gave the band a bigger acknowledge in the specialized media and the public's respect. But, due to the constant changes of the group members, Valhalla was deactivated for a while. The comeback took place in 1999, with the new composition and the performances of local shows. But in 2000 there is another casualty in the formation, Andréa leaves the band, leaving up to the sisters to give continuity to the work.

By recruiting new group members the guitarists are able to maintain Valhalla active e with the intention of releasing the new songs with the new formation, the band records the MCD "For The Might Of Chaos ...For The Force Inside", with four tracks. This MCD gave the chance of many performances next to highly praised internationally bands, and also great critics in zines, sites and magazines. And the outcome couldn't be different, the band signed a contract with Hellion Records releasing in 2001 the main album of its history, the CD Petrean self. This CD was distributed in over 28 countries and new invitations for national shows and international tours were received by the band, but the band's formation instability stopped Valhalla from getting international ways.

Among the problems of consolidating a formation, to find a drummer that was willing to take Valhalla seriously was the most difficult, however, in 2005 Ariadne Souza joins the band where she remains until today. Valhalla becomes, then, a band with an all girl formation, which had never been the intention, but a mere consequence of personal affinities.

Even with the temporary absence of the guitarist and founder Alessandra, Valhalla recorded in 2009, three songs that are in the MCD Innerstorm with the goal of presenting the formation, that until then Valhalla had kept, and show that the main idea remained: to play death metal.

The lack of commitment with the work, the friendship or the proposition, made people come in and out of the band, some contributing musically or building friendship bonds and others not. However, Valhalla sticks to its journey and aloof of fad, the band keep itself convict of its meaning. The adversities made it that the band reorganized itself with the return of Alessandra in the guitar, also taking on the record of the bass guitar, and Ariadne took over the vocals. Nowadays, Valhalla is:

Adriana Tavares - Guitar
Ariadne Souza – Drums and vocal
Alessandra Tavares – Guitar and Bass Guitar

This formation, more cohesive and stable, is in the new Ep “Evil fills me”, four musics of pure aggressiveness and precision, undoubtedly the most brutal death metal made by the band.


Valhalla (19) Discography


111F13355 Valhalla (19) ... In The Darkness Of Limb(LP, Album) Sub Way 111F13355 Brazil 1994 Sell This Version
HEL0130 Valhalla (19) Petrean Self(CD, Album) Hellion Records HEL0130 Brazil 2002 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

none Valhalla (19) Evil Fills Me(CD, EP + DVD-V + Dlx, Ltd) Not On Label none Brazil 2016 Sell This Version