The Dynamics (2)

The Dynamics (2)

A dynamic instrumental group formed in Johannesburg in 1983, fusing elements of ska, reggae, mbaqanga and township jazz, it was this line-up that recorded (at Downtown Studios) and released its seven-track debut album, "It's The Dynamics", on cassette tape.

The following year, they recorded (at Hugh Masekela's mobile studio in Botswana) and released a five-track mini-album on 12-inch vinyl called "Switch It On and Wind It Up".

After reforming in Cape Town a decade later, their third album, "Organic", was recorded in 1996 at The Nuthouse, an independent Capetonian studio. 500 self-financed CD albums were mastered and manufactured in Taiwan and distributed by the band in 1996.

The band's core members are:
Harvey Roberts: tenor saxophone, vocals
Jimmy Florence: keyboards, bass, trombone
Winston Nyaunda: alto saxophone
Steve Howells: drums
Viewing All | The Dynamics (2)


The Dynamics (2) Discography Tracks


MOBL 100 The Dynamics (2) Switch It On & Wind It Up(LP, MiniAlbum) Priority Records (6) MOBL 100 South Africa 1984 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

MOBS 1 The Dynamics (2) Thugs(7", Single) Priority Records (6) MOBS 1 South Africa 1984 Sell This Version


FRESHCD 111 The Dynamics (2) Time To Switch It On And Jive - Again!(CD, Comp) Fresh Music (2) FRESHCD 111 South Africa Unknown Sell This Version

Videos (1) Edit