Mike McAteer

Mike McAteer

Real Name:
Mike McAteer
Having performed in the rock band CIRCUS (1969-1971) and Las Vegas showband The ULTIMATES (1970-1971), Mike turned into a successful musician in Christian rock circles with performance / recording groups HARVEST (1974-1976) and AIRBORNE out of Melodyland Christian Center, Anaheim, CA (1976-1980).

His first record was an e.p. with The Ultimates in 1970, followed by a compilation album "Branches" on Branch Records in 1972 (LPS 1004) with various Melodyland artists which included Bob (Robert) Cull. That led to two Cull-produced albums that Mike played bass guitar on: "Welcome To The Family" - Robert Cull (1972) on Armchair Records ARM-100. This was later released on Maranatha! Music album with McAteer's two songs off this album released on the "bob cull: collection" l.p. on Chalace Music CRT 1033A-1980 (1980); and "Let's Keep Growing" - Debi Wilkerson (1973) on Melodyland Records, MP81975.

Other albums released in the 1970s included Mike's bass and guitar performances on: Dick Mishler - "For The Glory Of The Lord" (1972) Branch Records LPS 1005; Willie Murphy & Family - "Jesus Is Coming Soon" (1972) Love Records LPS 1005.
His own Christian rock band HARVEST released a single 45 rpm record in 1975 on J.C. Records (J101), and the self-titled "AIRBORNE" with two album releases in 1976 on Sunbird Records SB-1001, and 1977 (remixed) on Melodyland Records LPS 6406. Mike was the bass guitar/vocalist on the Harvest and Airborne recordings.

His first foray into record producing came in 1978 for singer Wendy Gajewski, "This Little Light Of Mine" produced on vinyl only (LPS 2556) in Airborne Records.

Other albums followed in the 1980s-2001 where McAteer produced and performed on, but one stands out in particular. This was a studio/theater performance he released as the record label vice president and bass guitar player. On Rockomedy Records, the vinyl and cassette release of "Eternal Vision - Special Deliverance" (1985) has continued to have a strong underground following due to its bizarre nature of telling a compelling story with over 32 voicings - mostly provided by the composers Nigel Neale and Marshall VanDruff.

His finest productions ultimately came with "Maker & Lord" (1987) and "We Declare your Glory" (1988) by artists Chris Ramsey and Kenny Ray Snyder; "The Claim" (1988); Pacifik's "No Surrender" (1989) featuring vocalist Michael Sewell; "I Stand In Awe" (1997) by the Ocean Hills; and "Who Will Say Grace" by Alex Palermo (2001).


Mike McAteer Discography Tracks

Instruments & Performance

HS-777/20 Robert Cull* All I Need Is You and 1 more… Robert Cull* - Welcome to the Family(LP, Album) Maranatha! Music HS-777/20 US Unknown Sell This Version
MP81975 Debi Wilkerson Debi Wilkerson - Let's Keep Growing Sung By Debi Wilkerson(LP) Melodyland (2) MP81975 US Unknown Sell This Version