The Black League

The Black League

Heavy rock band originating from Oulu, Finland, formed in 1998 by Taneli Jarva.

"The League's" original lineup included Jarva (on vocals), Sir Luttinen (drums), Maike Valanne (guitar), Alexi Ranta (guitar) and Florida (bass). They recorded three full length albums and one EP between 1999 - 2004. By this point Jarva had relocated to Helsinki and as the long distance operation of the band became impossible, the lineup was completely renewed around 2004-2005, with only Valanne continuing with Jarva from the original lineup. The three new members were Heavy Hiltunen (guitar), Rale Tiiainen (drums) and Ilkka Tanska (bass). With this lineup the band released two more albums: "A Place Called Bad" in 2005, and so far their last effort, "Ghost Brothel" in 2009 .

On October 5th 2014 Jarva made an announcement that the band has stopped being operative.


The Black League Discography Tracks


The Black League Ichor (Album) Spinefarm Records US 2000 Sell This Version
The Black League Utopia A.D. (Album) Spinefarm Records Russia 2001 Sell This Version
The Black League Man's Ruin Revisited (Album) Ranch, Ranch Finland 2004 Sell This Version
MLCD-022 The Black League A Place Called Bad(CD, Album) Major Leidén Productions MLCD-022 Finland 2005 Sell This Version
BB 001 The Black League Ghost Brothel(CD, Album) Brainbomber Records BB 001 Finland 2009 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

The Black League Doomsday Sun (EP) Spinefarm Records Finland 2001 Sell This Version
Ranch - 18 The Black League Cold Women & Warm Beer(CD, Single) Ranch Ranch - 18 Finland 2003 Sell This Version