The Sperm

The Sperm

Finnish ultra-radical and scandalous performance group/proto-noise band.

1967 saw the birth of the notorious Helsinki ensemble The Sperm, led by Mattijuhani Koponen and Pekka Airaksinen and with such members as J.O. Mallander and Markus Heikkerö. Airaksinen had previously written some experimental pieces with the equipment provided and built by Erkki Kurenniemi for The University of Helsinki Electronic Music Studio (where also composers Henrik Otto Donner and Erkki Salmenhaara had been working).

The Sperm's performances concentrated, alongside music, on breaking sexual taboos, and Mattijuhani Koponen eventually had to spend some time at a correctional facility (the fuss was all about Koponen's alleged public copulation with an anonymous woman while lying on a grand piano at a performance), since this sort of avantgardism seemed to be too much for the establishment of time.
Viewing All | The Sperm


The Sperm Discography Tracks


Sperm* Shh! Heinäsirkat (Album) O Records, O Records Finland 1970 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

GN-3 The Sperm 3rd Erection(7", EP, Mono) Eteenpäin! GN-3 Finland 1968 Sell This Version


The Sperm / Pekka Airaksinen / Samsa Trio The Sperm / Pekka Airaksinen / Samsa Trio - Works 1968 - 1976 (Comp) Vinyl-on-demand Germany 2015 Sell This Version


Add Review



October 25, 2015
There has never been a band called The Sperm in Finland. It was and is Sperm. Don't falsify the past.

Videos (3) Edit