Swedish medieval-ambient/neoclassical band founded in 1994 and led by Peter Bjärgö. Debut album is 1996 "Dark Age Of Reason" on Cold Meat Industry. They are now releasing their works through Cyclic Law.

Line-up from 2002 to November 1st, 2014:
Peter Bjärgö, Ann-Mari Thim, Cecilia Bjärgö and Mattias Borgh
Line-up since November 2nd, 2014:
Peter Bjärgö


CMI.43 Arcana - Dark Age Of Reason album art Arcana Dark Age Of Reason (Album) Cold Meat Industry CMI.43 Sweden 1996 Sell This Version
CMI.55 Arcana - Cantar De Procella album art Arcana Cantar De Procella (Album) Cold Meat Industry CMI.55 Sweden 1997 Sell This Version
CMI.79 Arcana - ...The Last Embrace album art Arcana ...The Last Embrace (Album) Cold Meat Industry CMI.79 Sweden 2000 Sell This Version
CMI121 Arcana - Inner Pale Sun album art Arcana Inner Pale Sun (Album) Cold Meat Industry CMI121 Sweden 2002 Sell This Version
none Arcana - Le Serpent Rouge album art Arcana Le Serpent Rouge (Album) Erebus Odora none Sweden 2004 Sell This Version
KAL32 Arcana - Raspail album art Arcana Raspail (Album) Kalinkaland Records KAL32 Germany 2008 Sell This Version
Erebus 010 Arcana - Un Passage Silencieux album art Arcana Un Passage Silencieux(CD, MiniAlbum, Ltd) Erebus Odora Erebus 010 Sweden 2011 Sell This Version
49th Cycle Arcana - As Bright As A Thousand Suns album art Arcana As Bright As A Thousand Suns (Album) Cyclic Law 49th Cycle Canada 2012 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

CMI.52 Arcana - Lizabeth album art Arcana Lizabeth(CD, Maxi, Ltd) Cold Meat Industry CMI.52 Sweden 1997 Sell This Version
CMI.74 Arcana - Isabel album art Arcana Isabel(CD, Single, Ltd) Cold Meat Industry CMI.74 Sweden 2000 Sell This Version
CMI112 Arcana - Body Of Sin album art Arcana Body Of Sin (Single) Cold Meat Industry CMI112 Sweden 2002 Sell This Version
45th Cycle Arcana - Emerald album art Arcana Emerald(CD, EP, Ltd) Cyclic Law 45th Cycle Canada 2012 Sell This Version


10th Cycle, Erebus 005 Arcana - The New Light album art Arcana The New Light (Comp) Cyclic Law, Erebus Odora 10th Cycle, Erebus 005 Canada 2004 Sell This Version
27th Cycle Arcana - The First Era 1996-2002 album art Arcana The First Era 1996-2002(CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Album,) Cyclic Law 27th Cycle Canada 2010 Sell This Version
none Arcana - The Extra Songs Of Arcana album art Arcana The Extra Songs Of Arcana (Comp) Not On Label (Arcana Self-Released) none Sweden 2014
104th Cycle Arcana - Petrichor album art Arcana Petrichor (Comp) Cyclic Law 104th Cycle Germany 2017 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 11 Reviews

Add Review



March 8, 2019
Shouldn't the The Hearts Of Shadow Gods Cold Meat Industries Compilation be listed here?


January 14, 2018
Whoa... hold on people, why so serious? Loosen your glutes as they say in my country. You seem like members of an Arcana-cult or fanboys. Yes, maybe "insolent copycat" wasn't a fortunate expression, maybe "inspired by" or just "continuator" would have been better, but association with more sacred and dark early DCD from 80s is just too obvious, can't help. But still, I like the band, it's equally quality music.


December 1, 2017
.303. really? You hear one neo-classical artist and you've heard 'em all huh? Chances are Peter Bjärgö was inspired by and influenced by some of the more dense and sombre Dead Can Dance tracks. So, what, fuxk him because his art didn't come out of a vacuum? If it was in fact listening to DCD that inspired his style, then he distilled and refined and condensed a certain mood that was only occasionally entertained by DCD. But it is just as likely that it was cinema soundtracks, obscure opera, even that stupid Midnight Syndicate project that sold Cd's out of Hot Topic could have inspired him to do "that...but better". Who cares? Arcana's music only echoes of ONE expression of "mood" invoked from the vast host of them commanded by Dead Can Dance.

The real problem with your insolent comment is that it disparages both groups of artists. It trivialises the staggering expanse of stylistic diversity that DCD masterfully orchestrates and fails to validate the ponderous depths of mood distinguishing the immersive soundscapes conjured by Bjärgö.

Whatever kindled the fire in Bjärgö to compose the music he does has no claims on the distinct aural sorcery of Arcana.


September 17, 2013
An insolent early DCD copycat (or continuator?), but still great.

Videos (62) Edit