leokats

Pink Floyd leokats

December 19, 2018
edited 11 months ago
Few words about the 2016 vinyl releases..plain digital GARBAGE! Avoid avoid avoid (maybe get Animals)! Any copy from any country before the 1980 era will play better if found in a decent condition. Why on earth do all this effort to take the tapes and stuff and then produce a digital crap wax! Just make a CD for Christ! Every time I spin the 2016's it feels like darkness (similar to originals) but without the air and warmness that one would seek when listening to a "dark" record. BG tried to work on the dynamics still the final result is just super weird. It just ain't possible to mimic analogousness by using digital means (I guess that's what BG tried to do). In a nutshell these records are a stain on the legacy of this band! Blasphemy! They should re-do all this work following strictly an analog domain. Doug Sax has done a nice job in DSOTM 2003 and Division Bell 2014- those you can get. Pink Floyd deserves only the best possible treatment.
IndigoBlue

Pink Floyd IndigoBlue

June 22, 2019
I agree, A wasted opportunity. They should re-do them all.:-(
AHAFAN02

Pink Floyd AHAFAN02

February 25, 2019
There is nothing wrong with the Scissor Sisters remake. I quite like it, it's different and refreshing.
rc_bryo1978

Pink Floyd rc_bryo1978

February 13, 2019
Well said, just like the scissor sisters comfortably numb version, was such an insult and ruined the track,. Iv got 1st original press of Piper at the gates of dawn, meddle, Animals, Dsotm, Atom heart mother, division bell, Obscured by clouds, UmaGumma, Iv also got the complete discography on MP3, but defo don't sound the same as vinyl
moonhazle

Pink Floyd moonhazle

May 19, 2018
edited 7 months ago
No matter what they want you to believe, Animals was the last real Pink Floyd album. Animals was the last album where they were really playing together as a band in the studio. In 1978, two fine solo albums were released: David Gilmour's first & Richard Wright's Wet Dream.

But the later released solo ones, are solo (project) patchworks released under the name Pink Floyd, having little to do with their magical creative, collective 1966-1977 output as The Early Years 1965-1972 box set showed me again on especially it's live recordings and it's John Latham Versions. What a joy and spontanity. They really brewed.

The Wall was the price they payed for saving them from bankrupticy caused by their venture capital company Norton-Warburg investments and the tax they had to pay over those losses.

Roger saved Pink Floyd financially by letting them use one of his solo demo tapes for the badly needed new Pink Floyd album, but his ego had already become too big to work with for the others Floyds and an army of co-workers were called to duty to finish it, plus it was Roger's very personal baby, a very personal cry to be executed by all (?!). Pink Floyd always made the music they liked, together. Wright didn't like The Wall, tried, seeing the need as all did, but was -also- blocked by marriage problems and Roger big ego maestro bullying him.

(Years later: Gilmour didn't like The Final Cut and they fought each other, was treated as a session man by Waters, Waters quits what he has left of Pink Floyd in 1985, in fact he leads himself out of Pink Floyd)

This all splitted up the band that already had gone solo in 1978. Richard Wright was dismissed. The result was a monstrosity, selling more than Meatloaf, it was a lot of school kids' first Pink Floyd. It was the first Pink Floyd release I did not buy on release after I started collecting them in 1971 with Relics. It made me think: Hey, Roger, leave those kids alone, and I don't need your spitting "new" sound, where's Rick's architectonic playing? Where has Nick's specific drum sound gone? It's strait bam bam bam now! Roger cannot sing, why doesn't David sing more? What an ungly artwork, for kids?! An expensive double album with just a few good tracks! Krautrock, Punk & New Wave flourished, Animals did a good job but hell a bombastic rock opera?! Then, that whining story everyone was delving out of it!
After all these years this to me = Screaming Lord Waters with Heavy Friends = album still has only 2 excellent, 5 just decent tracks and 19 fillers. Stop has deadly honest lyrics (it covers the whole situation), Young Lust the worst (it previews Hitch Hiking).

The 80's brought more solo (projects), some again under the name Pink Floyd: The Final Cut (actually a Roger Waters solo album), About Face, Identity, The Pros and Cons of Hitch Hiking, Profiles, A Momentary Lapse of Reason (actually a David Gilmour solo album), Radio KAOS and Delicate Sound of Thunder (actually a David Gilmour solo project) again all not my cup of tea to put it mildly but -One man's trash is another man's treasure- or -One man's meat is another man's poison- fits me more. Same case with Nick Mason's Fictitious Sports (actually a Carla Bley album) being the only clever and gorgeous one to me, is as criminally underrated as More, Ummagumma (studio parts) and Music from the Body are. Even the half good Obscured by Clouds nullyfies their 80's stuff for me with ease.

The 80's recordings releases shows me how they struggled and smuggled solo in that period and how great as a group, supplementary wise (following the 1+1+1+1 becomes > 4 formula) they once were. Eventually they grew better after that period.

With the 3 Floyds in the 90's:
-Cluster One, Marooned, Wearing The Inside Out & High Hopes from The Division Bell (the rest stays weak IMO),
-Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Astronomy Domine, High Hopes, a complete Dark Side, Wish You Were Here & Comfortably Numb (live on PULSE),
and with 2 Floyds + 1 posthumously, the in the 00's:
-Skins, The Lost Art Of Conversation, On Noodle Street, Allons-y (1), Autumn '68 [as if hearing Rick playing his own requiem] , Allons-y (2), Tbs9, Tbs14 & Nervana on The Endless River (Anisina here is pure kitsch, Louder than Words isn't their swan song, that honour stays with High Hopes, the rest is too idle, New Age),
they do a far better job IMO with an ace group sound and some great new compositions!

Broken China, On an Island and Remember That Night: Live at the Royal Albert Hall, shows how classy David Gilmour can be and Richard Wright always was. Roger Waters was really great on Piper - Animals and his collaboration with Ron Geesin: Music from the Body is a fine timepiece. I like his view on politics in interviews & statements but his militaristic, bombastic shows are appalling and repellent to me but just the music on his In The Flesh album is quit an improvement over his other releases. The wonderful Syd Barrett's Pink Floyd and his lovely solo albums! Nick Mason with his fantastic drumming all the way through, I look forward what his new band Nick Mason's Saucerful of Secrets brings from the early, pre Dark Side stuff!

P.s.:
Without the Norton-Warburg affair there would likely have been no Wall by Pink Floyd, but a Roger Water's solo album, and after years maybe a new all four members Pink Floyd album or not.

YouTube: Roger Waters & Nick Mason - The Simple Facts, from 12:12. If one has any knowledge what happened, and insight into character, one can only conclude Roger is still bossy, bullying, frustrated and hypocrite.
Sinsonido

Pink Floyd Sinsonido

June 17, 2019
edited 5 months ago
I can't really disagree with much of what you've said. I might go a step further and suggest that Wish You Were Here was really the last democratic 'band project' Pink Floyd ever did, although Roger described the experience as "Wish WE Were Here". The bulk of the material that became Animals was already in development and being performed in front of live audiences as early as 1974. But the In The Flesh? tour of '77 would not have unreleased material in the set-list, as in previous tours, and it would be their last display of spontaneity as a live act, at least in lieu of what was to come. Stacking bricks and performing to a click track is certainly one way to intercede the marvel of improvisation.

I've always regarded The Wall as being the best solo album by Roger Waters, 'featuring' the artists formerly known as Pink Floyd. It was also the death knell of the concept album in my opinion, as the 'songs-between-sound-effects' model of concept writing emerged.

Pink Floyd went from being a Band to becoming a Brand at some point, and so inevitably things change. The good news is that their history is so varied at this point that there's something in it for everyone.
Sinsonido

Pink Floyd Sinsonido

June 16, 2019
edited 5 months ago
Actually, Roger gave demo tapes of The Wall and Pros & Cons to the band so they could chose from those two. It's not surprising that the band chose The Wall, but I have no doubt Roger would have released it, with or without Pink Floyd. I always found it interesting that the band members were not credited as a group inside the cover of the first issues.
moridin6

Pink Floyd moridin6

April 29, 2019
I did read all of that, and just because it is long and seems like you know what you are talking about, you do not. Yes the Wall was mostly Roger, bur he conceived it touring for Animals with every intention of it being a Pink Floyd album. Animals was recorded so badly, I am surprised anyone can even listen to it, much less enjoy it, so that tells me everything I need to know about the rest of your opinion of Pink Floyd.
brumbpotungus

Pink Floyd brumbpotungus

December 22, 2018
hate to break it to you but nobody's reading all that
psikofunkster

Pink Floyd psikofunkster

September 5, 2018
I don't want to believe it noou nou nou NOU!
jackfrancis86

Pink Floyd jackfrancis86

April 19, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
tl;dr - Start with Dark Side of the Moon, then try out Meddle and Wish You Were Here. If Meddle gets you, then work backwards, if Wish gets you, then work forward.

An interesting band, with several very distinct phases. Though it's all old hat by now, even the punks quite liked the Syd stuff. Most people will have a favourite era. A quick breakdown for the uninitiated:

1965-1968 - Syd Barrett era. Esoteric English whimsy and cataclysmic astral freak outs, with surprisingly little in between. Generally favoured by your left-field singer songwriter types.
1968-1973 - They binned off poor old acid casualty Syd (lots of debate to be had there, but best saved for one of the half dozen books on the subject), got in rock-god-in-waiting Dave Gilmour and made some top notch late 60s/early 70s psych tinged hard rock with blues influences. Transition from jam-out freaks to proper together real 'band' in the prog sense, with proper chops and everything, rather than Mason rolling around his toms for hours while Barrett mucks about with a zippo on his strings going through an echoplex.
1973-1983 - Legit 'biggest band in the world' contenders, with prog masterpieces with concepts and basslines in 7/4 and all that stuff.
1983-2017 - Bassist and prog-visionary-in-chief Waters decides he's had enough, band carry on without him, do some passable if a bit watery bluesy delay laden terribly earnest 80s/90s rock. Indefinite hiatus in mid 90s, back together for one last hurrah of rejigging outtakes from last album proper into a final (better than you might expect) album in the mid 2010s.

For what it's worth, I'm mad into the Syd stuff, really dig the intermediate stuff up to Dark Side of the Moon, really like Dark Side itself but if they'd called it a day in 1973 then they'd have just about the strongest body of work in all guitar music. I've not got much time for the indulgent double concept albums about, er, celebrity-induced psychosis (I think? (The Wall)) or overly earnest dudes in their 40s with ludicrous bank balances trying to be deep (The Division Bell).

Other than Momentary Lapse of Reason I don't think there's a stone-cold dud in the catalogue of studio albums, I mean a lot of people have a lot of love for Division Bell, but it just doesn't get me like the wigged out early stuff. Dark Side is just fantastic though - the production and mixing etc make it sound so current, even 45ish years down the line. I don't dig it as much as the psych era, but out of all the prog era albums it's the one that still stands up and warrants the rep. Start there, try out Meddle and Wish You Were Here, if Meddle gets you then work backwards, if Wish gets you then work forward.

Oh, and everyone needs to hear the live disc of Ummagumma. It's an absolute monster and is the only live document of its vintage to stand up to the interstellar churning terror of Hawkwind's Space Ritual.
Euphonics

Pink Floyd Euphonics

September 1, 2018
Now there's one healthy and thought-provoking review. If anyone needs a proper panoptic hot-take on one of the most historically-relevant bands, this is it.
Good show, lad.
jackfrancis86

Pink Floyd jackfrancis86

April 24, 2018
Fair point on Ummagumma's studio disc - it's pretty dire. I'm not keen on the suite side on Atom Heart Mother either come to think of it, but for both albums they're salvaged by their respective other halves. I quite like More however, how can any record with Cymbaline on it be a dud? It's a low-key album for sure, but I think the mood setting snippets work well with the songs proper.
aeticrap

Pink Floyd aeticrap

April 21, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
"Other than Momentary Lapse of Reason I don't think there's a stone-cold dud in the catalogue of studio albums" I don't know - Ummagumma's studio side and More are pretty dull, I tell people to skip the studio side and More if you count that, which I do, and MLOR until they've listened to everything else :)
EyezofZinger

Pink Floyd EyezofZinger

October 31, 2017
Pink Floyd is the best band ever, wherever I go I look for their albums! I have seen Roger Waters twice and David Gilmour once and its Pink Floyd enough for me. :)
cooked71

Pink Floyd cooked71

October 27, 2017
It's sad that pretty much every bootleg has been blocked from sale.
pigsfloyd

Pink Floyd pigsfloyd

August 31, 2018
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOO TRUEEEEEEEEEEEEEE>WHAT A SHAME.discogs is not fan friendly anymore.
RaoulDuke138

Pink Floyd RaoulDuke138

August 18, 2017
Anyone have or know of the rare promotional "pig record bins" that are for sale?