Necessary Noize

Real Name:
Kevin Wyre, Nazizi Hirji
Founded in 2000, Necessary Noize is a Hip-Hop Crew from Nairobi, Kenya, originally consisting of female MC/singer Nazizi Hirji, singer Kevin Wyre and rapper Bamzigi, although Bamzigi later left due to personal and label disputes. Necessary Noize released their self-titled debut album in 2000 under Audio Vault Studios (now Blu Zebra), which contained the hits "Clang Clang," and "La Di Da."

The group grew in popularity and were later to release a second album Necessary Noize II: Kenyan Gal, Kenyan Boy in 2004 which included popular regional hits such as "Kenyan Gal, Kenyan Boy" and "Bless My Room" . They won in 2 categories in the 2004 Kisima Music Awards, for Best Music Video (for Gal/Boy) and Best Ragga Group.

Although mainly hip hop based, the group also does some reggae and R&B tracks. They are appreciated for their socially conscious lyrics that deal with issues affecting youth such as AIDS, drugs and politics.

Together with Ugandan ragga musician Bebe Cool, they have released music under the name East African Reggae Bashment Crew which was nominated at the inaugural (2008) MTV Africa Music Awards in Abuja, Nigeria.

Necessary Noize have also collaborated with the Tanzanian hip hop group Gangwe Mobb with the hit "Tunajirusha".
Guests on their debut album include Mizchif from Zimbabwe, Jerry Doobie of K-South and Nyota Ndogo.
In Groups:


none Necessary Noize - Necessary Noize album art Necessary Noize Necessary Noize(CD, Album) Audio Vault Studios none Kenya 2000 Sell This Version