The Transmitters

The Transmitters

A seminal post punk band that recorded 2 John Peel Sessions, released 2 albums and 3 singles.
The Transmitters were highly acclaimed in the much respected underground scene (end of 70's and the 80's) which accompanied the punk revolution.
Members were:
John F. Quinn (vocals) (aka John Clegg, John Grimes, John X)
Vince Cutliffe (lead guitar)
Jim Chase (drums)
Mikel Lee (guitar)
Sam Dodson (bass, guitar) (later Loop Guru)
Sid Wells (bass)
Amanda De Gray (keyboards)
Tim Whelan (vocals) (later Transglobal Underground)
Dave Baby (saxophone)
Julian Treasure (drums)
Rob Chapman (vocals)
Hammi Lee (drums) (later Transglobal Underground)
Dave Mud-Demon (later Loop Guru)
James McQueen
Bob Sargeant (as 'The Hand of Borgus Wheems')
Chris Mchallem (as 'Dexter O'Brien')


The Transmitters Discography Tracks


EBY 1002 The Transmitters "24 Hours"(LP, Album) Ebony EBY 1002 UK 1978 Sell This Version
Transmitters* And We Call That Leisure Time (Album) Heartbeat Records UK 1981 Sell This Version
why 007 Transmitters* I Fear No-One...(CD) Elsewhen Records why 007 UK 2006 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

The Transmitters Party (Single) Ebony UK 1978 Sell This Version
The Transmitters Nowhere Train Ebony UK 1978 Sell This Version
SF 12 12 The Transmitters Still Hunting For The Ugly Man(12", EP) Step-Forward Records SF 12 12 UK 1979 Sell This Version
9CC Transmitters* The Mechanic(12") Craving Company 9CC UK 1989 Sell This Version
YANSR #14 Transmitters* Count Your Blessings (1987/89)(8xFile, MP3, EP, 192) You Are Not Stealing Records YANSR #14 Portugal 2006

Videos (5) Edit