Trainwreck Ghost



150984 Trainwreck Ghost - The Blood Won't Wash Out album art Trainwreck Ghost The Blood Won't Wash Out(CD, Album, EP) Freedom DAM 150984 USA, Canada & Europe 1998 Sell This Version
150224 Trainwreck Ghost - Last Django In Paris album art Trainwreck Ghost Last Django In Paris(CD, Album) Freedom DAM 150224 USA, Canada & Europe 1998 Sell This Version
150216 Trainwreck Ghost - The Holy Boys album art Trainwreck Ghost The Holy Boys(CD, Album) 150216 USA, Canada & Europe 1998 Sell This Version
150229 Trainwreck Ghost - Oblivion album art Trainwreck Ghost Oblivion(CD, Album, Ltd) Freedom DAM 150229 USA, Canada & Europe 1998 Sell This Version


Add Review



May 12, 2016
Trainwreck Ghost aka Trainwreck Ghosts (in the early years) is the project of singer-songwriter, musician and producer Roger Prescott. They were based originally in Los Angeles and later in Austin,Texas. Original members included Eddie Munoz of The Plimsouls, Tim Henderson of The Pop, Robert Williams and Kent Houseman. Trainwreck Ghost played hundreds of shows in both cities as well as touring the USA. They have released three albums and one cassette of original material so far as Trainwreck Ghost.

The band also performed acoustically as The Holy Boys, playing a mash-up of Appalachian, Cajun, and Country, often doing left-field covers of songs such as "Love Will Tear Us Apart by Joy Division and "A House Is Not A Motel" by Authur Lee & Love. The Holy Boys released one CD of live performances and studio recordings in 1998.

A little more about Trainwreck Ghost:

Originally based in Los Angeles and later in Austin Texas. Trainwreck Ghost played constantly in L.A. at Raji's, Club Lingerie, The Central, (now the Viper Room), Al's Bar, The Gaslight, The Anti-Club, Madame Wong's, The Music Machine, Club 88, The Coconut Teaser and many other venues up and down the West Coast. They recorded a number of early tracks at the famous Venice Beach studio Radio Tokyo and on a trusty Teac 4-track deck in a home garage studio dubbed "Piss Bucket" (for it's lack of bathroom facilities.)

After moving to Austin they were regulars at The Continental Club, Liberty Lunch, The Hole in the Wall, and The Steamboat among others. They added the late-great bluesman Alex Napier (from early Stevie Ray Vaughn band, The Cobras, and Will and The Kill featuring Will Sexton) on bass guitar soon after the move to Austin. Trainwreck Ghosts recorded an EP, "The Phantom Tapes" and their 1st LP, "The Blood Won't Wash Out" with Aaron White at Austin's 6th Street Studios and rehearsed at the legendary hangout and rehearsal space ARC in South Austin.

Members of various line-ups of Trainwreck Ghost were songwriter-guitarist Roger Prescott, guitarist Eddie Munoz (from The Plimsouls), drummer, percussionist & dobro player Robert Williams, bass players Tim Henderson, Jaime Carter and Alex Napier, and guitarist and sometimes bass player Kent Earle Houseman.

A little more about The Holy Boys:

The Holy Boys formed in Los Angeles as the acoustic side project of Trainwreck Ghost members Roger Prescott and Robert Williams because of their love for Cajun & Zydeco music, old timey bluegrass & fiddle music, traditional country, and country-blues. They added fiddle player Jim Plattes to get a more authentic sound and soon the other two members of Trainwreck Ghost, Eddie Munoz and Tim Henderson were onboard.

After recording a few songs at Radio Tokyo in Santa Monica they approached The Anti-Club (a legendary punk rock venue in Hollywood) with an idea to start an all-acoustic night called " The Grand Ole Anti ". Soon the night was a hit at the club and The Holy Boys were regular hosts, putting together shows with other local artists, including Peter Case, Victoria Williams, Rosie Flores, Rank and File, Dwight Yoakum, The Radio Ranch Straight Shooters, Tin Star, and The Lonesome Strangers to name a few.

The Holy Boys continued to perform after Trainwreck Ghost relocated to Austin, playing regular shows at the super-cool Lake Austin BBQ & boat dock venue Ski Shores, with accordion and fiddle player Ron Imhoff . They also recorded a second version of their song "Matin" at 6th Street Studios with guest accordion player Ponty Bone.

Videos (5) Edit