Sweet Death

Sweet Death

Japanese metal band formed in Jan '89, with a short but VERY confusing yet somewhat mysterious history. Post-Jewel (14), pre-Media Youth. The original lineup featured three former members of Jewel, the guitarist Kiyoshi, the singer Masashi, the drummer Hideki, and two other guys. The music they played at that time was more in the 'traditional' Japanese heavy metal style ala Jewel, Dancer, or Wolf. With this early lineup, they recorded a 3-track demo tape, originally intended to be properly released by Mandrake Root Records, however remained unreleased due to a major lineup change in the band. Only the very rare promo demo tape (Mandrake Root, No cat #, 'Not For Sale') exists, which a small number of copies given out to the fans at their shows. There is also an official live footage of a song "Yellow" (later rearranged and played by Media Youth as well) on the Rockin' F compilation video. The second lineup/period of Sweet Death included 笹野 'SATORU' 学 (ex-Aion (3) and Paranoia (22) on vocals, KOHICHI (ex-Emperor/Rommel (4) and Sighs Of Love Potion) on drums, Kiyoshi (ex-Jewel (14), later played in Virus (59), hide (2) With Spread Beaver, etc.) on guitar, and Heath (7) (ex-Paranoia (22), later X Japan) on bass, in May '90. There's an official 1990 live video footage with this lineup. Heath left the band to play in X Japan. Their music style shifted to speed metal and a song "Sand Shake" appeared on The End Of The Century Rockers ~ Emergency Express Ⅱ. Sometime during 1990 they changed the name to Media Youth. The band broke up at some point but Kiyoshi and Kohichi reformed Media Youth in '92, with the new singer Daisuke and the new bassist Hiroki. Their music also shifted to more post-punk/new wave/gothic metal style visual kei rock.


Sweet Death Discography Tracks


none Sweet Death Sweet Death(Cass, S/Sided, Promo) Mandrake Root Records none Japan 1990 Sell This Version