Founded by Hazy Osterwald in 1949, the band had their first performance at the International Jazzfestival in Paris. The founding members were Sunny Lang (bass), John Ward (drums), Pierre Cavalli (guitar), Ernst Höllerhagen (clarinet) and Francis Burger (piano).

Later, other members like Curt Prina (piano), Dennis Armitage (saxophone) and Peter Beil (trumpet) joined the band.

Big success were the tracks "Kriminal Tango" (1959), "Panoptikum" (1960) and "Konjunktur Cha-Cha" (1961).
849 772-2 Hazy Osterwald Sextett - Die Grosse Stimmungs Hitparade album art Various Der Fahrstuhl Nach Oben Ist Besetzt Various - Die Grosse Stimmungs Hitparade(CD) Convoy 849 772-2 Germany Unknown Sell This Version