Bell Hollow


Christopher Bollman (bass 2003-2008)
Greg Fasolino (guitar 2003-2008)
Hillary Johnson (live keyboards 2006-2008)
Todd Karasik (drums 2006-2008)
Hayden Millsteed (drums 2003-2006)
Nick Niles (vocals, keyboards, guitar 2005-2008)

Bell Hollow made bittersweet dream pop, singing songs both melodic and mysterious.

Formed in 2003 by bassist Christopher Bollman and guitarist Greg Fasolino, the Brooklyn-based quartet were inspired by the atmospheric British rock of the Eighties and related genres like shoegaze, new wave, and indie-rock, building on authentic experience as members of old-school NYC post-punk bands like The Naked and the Dead and The Children's Zoo. When frontman Nick Niles (originally from Sacramento, CA) came aboard in 2005, the unique Bell Hollow sound was finally realized.

Impressive reviews for the band's shimmering songs led to their signing with new NYC indie label five03 Records, who released Bell Hollow's first official EP, Sons of the Burgess Shale in October 2006. Shortly thereafter, drummer Todd Karasik (formerly with indie-pop cult heroes My Favorite) replaced original member Hayden Millsteed.

Bell Hollow recorded their debut full-length Foxgloves (again with producer/engineer Hillary Johnson, also the band's live synth player), at Water Music in Hoboken, NJ in summer 2007. The 10-song album (including "Copper Crayon," "Eyes Like Planets," "Jamais Vu," and "Our Water Burden") was released in November 2007, debuting at 166 on the CMJ charts.

Bell Hollow completed a series of tours during 2008 (including shows in Detroit, Washington, New Orleans, Philadelphia, Buffalo, Toledo, Raleigh, Atlanta, and Athens, GA); and opened for artists such as New Model Army, Bush Tetras, Longwave, Bunnydrums, Lene Lovich, Ether Aura, Certain General, and The Prids.

The band signed with online music emporium RCRD LBL in August 2008, and issued five free remixes of Foxgloves songs, by such luminaries as Peter (Master Cylinder) Du Charme, Phofo, and Halo33.

In December 2008, frontman Nick Niles left the group to pursue his own direction, and the band chose not to continue.

Digital-only EP Foxgloves Extras (consisting of the five prior remixes and three outtakes from the Foxgloves sessions) was released in December 2008, to be followed by a cover of The Prids "Contact" (on the Dots to Connect compilation), and a possible posthumous EP of final recordings. , Bandcamp , Facebook
Members:Christopher Bollman, Greg Fasolino, Hayden Millsteed, Nick Niles, Todd Karasik


For Sale on Discogs

25 For Sale



Showing 0 - 0 of 0