sklerici

The Art Of Noise as reviewed by sklerici

November 7, 2018
I just think AON productions were too heavily 80's oriented to sound fresh after fourthy years. The same problem with the records of great bands like Coil, Flying Lizards and also with the more danceble things from Cabaret Voltaire, to name a few. Frankie Goes To Hollywood for sure, but what about early Depeche Mode.. They sound dated too? I don't know.. But it seems to me that songs like Tainted Love or Blue Monday were able in some way to resist more easily to the changing tastes forced by time.
flowerbed

The Art Of Noise flowerbed

February 3, 2019
Tainted Love and Blue Monday have not dated because they never give the damn things a rest for long enough. AON was always for the geeks like me anyway. But those two records, they’re like the meerkats. Wherever you go, like it or not, they turn up. So much so I even sing the opening lyric of the former as ‘Sometimes I feel this song is....dunk, dunk, OVERPLAYED”......
dylaf

The Art Of Noise dylaf

December 5, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
Dirty Disco- I don't think these guys were even related to the rest of the art music crowd at the time in any way & should just be taken for what they were- worlds still a better place with them than without. Growing up, these guys were a breath of fresh air next to Bross & Rick Astley ;) With all that is missing in terms of mind shattering, era defining genius, there is a simple, subtle and odd vibe which I feel warrants a credit all of its own. Ask anyone what they rate, its probably beat box, close to the edit & moments in love. Obvious, but commercially successful records, yet clearly not even trying to be electro-pop. Its just an unusual take on music that bears similarities to other innovators of the time that may have presented an edgier package. Also, hardly overrated- their good songs. I don't think they have ever been put across in any other way, neither by the band or anyone else. Just some really well put together records, not intended for wild acid trips, ecstasy use or filling a dance floor with chin strokers- Point is, they weren't trying to be Throbbing Gristle, just clearly being themselves- and thats a credit all the same, in the 80's or anytime...
clownkiller

The Art Of Noise clownkiller

May 26, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
I'm pretty sure GPO is willing to give his pinky finger (or one of his boobs) to be as popular/sellable as Art Of Noise.
DirtyDisco

The Art Of Noise DirtyDisco

December 21, 2009
This has to be one of the most overrated musical groups on the history of electronic music. I have bought at least 5 or 6 pieces of wax and 2 or 3 CDs by The Art Of Noise over the past ten years only to be consistently dissapointed over and over again. Some remixes of their tracks are alright, if mostly because they only bear passing resemblances to the original versions (see some of the tracks on "The Fon Mixes" from '91). What's worse than their cheesey, self-conciously 'weird', grating, cheep sounding electro-pop is how badly it has aged, though I can't imagine being impressed by it in 1985 either. I imagine that if drugs hadn't been as popular in 80s as they were, they wouldn't have even done as well as they did. There are far better acts who were farther ahead of the times in the 80s that TAON ever were.
Intercourse

The Art Of Noise Intercourse

October 9, 2017
Write a song as beautiful and timeless as "Moments in Love" and then we can chat.
HALFCUT

The Art Of Noise HALFCUT

October 30, 2014
At least 2-3 reviews slate The Art of Noise yet they have purchased numerous titles by them - why, if you believe them overrated? They were years ahead of their time, in 83 / 84 anyone with a vested interest in terms of buying, listening to or creating electro or hip hop was listening to Into Battle, Beat box or Close(to the edit), I know because I along with plenty of others were straight to the local record shop to purchase. As Simon Reynolds wrote, Into Battle was a glimpse into the future. Most so called hard core industrial groups haven't even come close to the percussive force The Art of Noise created on many of their tracks and remixes. Check the Who Sampled Who website where Moments in Love is still sampled regularly or You tube if you want to see their influence or the amount of respect people have for Beat box in particular. If someone thinks that Tangerine Dream or Jean Michel Jarre are better, then as The Art of Noise said ' Something is Missing '.
Suljkan

The Art Of Noise Suljkan

January 3, 2014
  RobertSteed; hi. if "blue monday" is the best you can do,... Of course, I'm not saying that it's a bad song, it's great, but you just have to do a bit better than that. I'm very much into electronic music from 60's to now and I can place all of them somewhere down the ladder starting (for me personally) with Tangerine Dream but that's something completely different from Art of Noise.
I didn't realise that this was an OPINION from DirtyDisco, I thought it was just pointless desecration.
RobertSteed

The Art Of Noise RobertSteed

December 19, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
  Suljkan
I'll reply on behalf of DirtyDisco. There are many acts that were way ahead of AON in the field of electronic music before or around the time AON discovered the joys of noodling around with samplers - obvious example: New Order "Blue Monday" (I know it wasn't sample-based before you jump down my throat). I must also point out that to suggest that someone is immature for having a different opinion to you is, well, immature.
Suljkan

The Art Of Noise Suljkan

December 19, 2013
  DirtyDisco
Since your comment was back in 2009, I assume that you're now mature enough to realize what you were saying back then and be ashamed of it. Art of Noise is an art experiment which is timeless. There are some awkward moments in their opus (as by all artists) but they are not strong enough to shadow the rest. Clearly you've been manipulated. I am just curious, to which acts are you referring in your last sentence?
robinsoncaruso

The Art Of Noise robinsoncaruso

May 25, 2013
I completely disagree with you. I remember that I was 13 in 1987 when I first listened to their debut album. Since that time I consider myself a conscious music listener person.
Art of Noise's influence is much higher than you think and I would say this band/project is rather underrated. Their later pieces are not so influential and none of them is a masterpiece but in my opinion the Who's Afraid... album is one of the most important record in electronic music.
God bless the noisemakers!
moogacid

The Art Of Noise moogacid

February 11, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
Hmm...yet again, maybe you had to be there. When 'Into Battle With...' came out in '83 there was certainly nothing like it, but they've never quite lived up to that early promise...
Either way, they're massively influential for their primitive but tight-as-fuck sampling styles.
AndyPandy2000

The Art Of Noise AndyPandy2000

September 26, 2012
I completely agree with you - the tracks might be state of the art technology-wise but there's nothing very imaginative done with it - to be honest i find their tunes lifeless and downright boring. And as for their being "pioneers" Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Jean-Michel Jarre, Giorgio Moroder, certain pink Floyd to name just some of the more obvious ones were there years before,
MatteoL

The Art Of Noise MatteoL

March 20, 2012
I completely agree with you.
In 1983-84 the music of The Art of Noise was something completely unheard and original, there was nothing like that in those times.
RobertSteed

The Art Of Noise RobertSteed

September 18, 2011
I too think AON were over-rated. "I think you need to listen to early electronic music, before Art of Noise" -- yes, try Jean Michel Jarre for example - he was way ahead of AON before they began.
MARTIN.SAFESOUNDS

The Art Of Noise MARTIN.SAFESOUNDS

March 24, 2011
RE : This has to be one of the most overrated musical groups in the history of electronic music.
I must say I have to agree with you even though I own numerous titles of theirs.
ZWOL2

The Art Of Noise ZWOL2

March 17, 2011
I think you need to listen to early electronic music, before Art of Noise. If it wasn't for them electronic music would most likely still sound electronic, shallow and tinny. The sampling of sounds from the outside world to make fresh musical sounds was pioneering. Infact they are rather underated, AoN were experimental,not mainstream, the fact that they sold lots of records meant that they connected with people who wanted a change to the likes of Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, Soft Cell, Human League, OMD etc. Art of Noise inspired acts from The Prodigy, 808 State to The KLF to Daft Punk. Just because you don't like a group, it don't mean that you can slag off their achievements.
djinsomnia

The Art Of Noise as reviewed by djinsomnia

August 15, 2002
Anne Dudley, Gary Langan, and Paul Morley were members of producer Trevor Horn's in-house studio band in the early '80s before they formed Art of Noise, a techno-pop group whose music was an amalgam of studio gimmickry, tape splicing, and synthesized beats. The Art of Noise took material from a variety of sources: hip-hop, rock, jazz, R&B, traditional pop, found sounds, and noise all worked their way into the group's distinctly post-modern soundscapes.

Dudley was the center of the group, having arranged and produced material for Frankie Goes to Hollywood, ABC, and Paul McCartney before forming the Art of Noise. The trio signed with Trevor Horn's ZTT label, releasing their first EP, Into Battle with the Art of Noise, in 1983. The following year, the group released the full-length (Who's Afraid Of?) The Art of Noise!, which featured the hit single "Close (To the Edit)".

After "Close (To the Edit)," the group parted ways with Horn and ZTT, releasing In Visible Silence in 1986; the album included the U.K. Top Ten hit "Peter Gunn," which featured Duane Eddy on guitar. Re-works of the Art of Noise, an album of remixes and live tracks, was released that same year. In No Sense? Nonsense!, released in 1987, saw the band experimenting with orchestras and choirs, as well as horns and rock bands. The next year, the Art of Noise released a greatest-hits collection, The Best of the Art of Noise, which featured their collaboration with Tom Jones on Prince's "Kiss".

Below the Waste (1990) captured the band experimenting with world music; it received a lukewarm critical and commercial reception. The following year, a low-key remix album directed by Killing Joke's Youth called The Ambient Collection appeared. Later in the year, the Art of Noise broke up. Dudley eventually worked with Killing Joke's Jaz Coleman and Phil Collins. Horn and Dudley renited in 1999 for a new album, The Seduction of Claude Debussy.