X Plastaz

Real Name:
Abdalla Minja, Diana Rutta, Godson Rutta, Nelson Rutta, Steven Rutta, Yamat Ole Meipuko
X Plastaz is an African hip-hop group from Arusha, Tanzania, consisting of six members; the brothers Faza Nelly (aka Ruff-Nell), Gsan, and Ziggy-Lah, Maasai singer Yamat Ole Meipuko a.k.a Merege, and two teenage siblings of the brothers, Diney and Steve. The group was formed in 1996 and has had the aforementioned line-up since 2001.

One of the most successful groups out of Tanzania, with a unique twist, they have a traditional Maasai singer wearing traditional Maasai clothing, focusing their sound and style on the Maasai tradition, which is a new path for Bongo Flava (a nickname for Tanzanian hip hop music, taking its name from the Swahili word ubongo, meaning "brain" and bongo, "brains", is the plural). Their main vocals are largely based on Maasai sounds and deep a cappella chanting, with rapping in Swahili and Haya languages. Their style of music is slower paced than most other hip hop from Africa.

Their 2004 album "Maasai Hip hop" was released by German label Out Here Records, and has earned them the status as the best known Tanzanian hip hop artists internationally. The album includes "Msimu kwa Msimu", their biggest hit to date, as wells as older tracks like "Bamiza" and "Aha!".

Nelly (Nelson Chrizostom Buchard Rutta) died of injuries 29th March, 2006 after being stabbed. Born 1976, he was the oldest member of the group.
Viewing All | X Plastaz


OH 002 X Plastaz - Maasai Hip Hop album art X Plastaz Maasai Hip Hop(CD, Album, Enh) Out Here Records OH 002 Germany 2004 Sell This Version
none X Plastaz - Shule album art X Plastaz Shule(File, MP3, Mixtape) Moso (2), Africanhiphop.com none 2012