Hailing from areas as diverse as Namibia, Grassy Park, Plumstead, Lansdowne, Tamboerskloof, and Observatory, the demographic makeup of South African six-piece band Moodphase5ive was as cosmopolitan as their sound: a soulful blend of funk, jazz and hip hop, laced with freaky latin breaks and their signature mix of bass-heavy rimshot dub.

Formed around 1999, they had a reputation as a remarkable live act, with members Denver Turner aka D.Form and Ernestine Deane on vocals, Brian de Goede (drums), Ricardo Moretti (keyboards, percussion, congas), Douglas Armstrong (trumpet, guitar) and Bood Carver (Budi Cava) on bass, releasing their highly-acclaimed debut album, "Steady On", in December of 2000.
A second album of original and new material was in the works - but that was not to be: the group parted ways in 2002.


ADOPECD002 Moodphase5ive - Steady On album art Moodphase5ive Steady On(CD, Album) African Dope Records ADOPECD002 South Africa 2000 Sell This Version
ADOPECD 006, adopecd 006 Moodphase5ive - Super Deluxe Mode album art Moodphase5ive Super Deluxe Mode(CD, Album) African Dope Records, African Dope Records ADOPECD 006, adopecd 006 South Africa 2002 Sell This Version