Oingo Boingo

Oingo Boingo

Oingo Boingo began in 1972 as The Mystic Knights Of The Oingo Boingo and was initially lead by Richard Elfman as a musical theater troupe. Richard's brother Danny Elfman took over control in 1976 and in the same year they performed on the television program The Gong Show. In 1977 Richard Elfman had the act perform the soundtrack project for his film Forbidden Zone.

In 1979 the act shortened their name to Oingo Boingo and reformulated their sound. The band featured a unique blend of styles which drew a dedicated following in the L.A. area and generally among the New Wave / Punk scene, but major commercial success remained elusive. The high point of their popularity was 1985, when their biggest hit "Dead Man's Party" was featured in Rodney Dangerfield's comedy film Back To School, together with a cameo performance by the band. Danny Elfman went onto become the preeminent film scorer of the late 20th century. The band continues to record into the mid 1990s, again shortening the act's name to merely Boingo and again shifting their sound for the final years.

After 23 years and 7 full-length studio albums, Oingo Boingo disbanded after giving a "farewell" concert at L.A.'s Universal Amphitheatre on Halloween in 1995, reverting to the name Oingo Boingo for this show.

* Danny Elfman - composer, music director, lead vocals, brass, violin, guitar, percussion, 1973-1995
* Richard Elfman - founder, director, periodic lead vocal, percussion solo, 1972-1976
* Marie-Pascale Elfman - lead vocals, dancer, comedienne, 1972-1977
* Matthew Bright - bass, 1972-1973
* Steve Bartek - guitar, vocals, percussion, horn arrangements, accordion, 1976-1995
* Johnny "Vatos" Hernandez - drums, percussion, 1978-1995
* Sam "Sluggo" Phipps - tenor & soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute, percussion, backing vocals, 1974-1995
* Leon Schneiderman - baritone & alto saxophones, flute, instrument design and construction, percussion, backing vocals, 1973-1995
* Dale Turner - trumpet, trombone, percussion, guitar, backing vocals, 1974-1995
* Bruce Fowler - trombone, 1983-1995
* John Avila - bass guitar, bass synthesizer, percussion, accordion, backing vocals, 1984-1995
* Warren Fitzgerald - guitar, 1994-1995
* Doug Lacy - accordion, percussion, 1994-1995
* Marc Mann - keyboards, samples, 1994-1995
* Ernie Fosselius - 1972
* Billy Superball - trumpet, upright & Fender bass, 1972-1974
* Gene Cunningham - 1972-1975
* Danny Stan Ayeroff - jazz guitar, 1972-1975
* William Winant - percussion, 1972-1975
* Lori Mann - accordion, lead vocals, dancer, 1972-1977
* Todd Manley - percussion, 1973-1974
* Josh Gordon - trumpet, tuba, banjar, guitar, 1973-1975
* Jon Gold - guitar, multi-instrumentalist, 1973-1976
* Jan Munroe - mime, dancer, acrobat, 1973-1976
* Miriam Cutler - clarinet, vocals, 1976-1979
* Kerry Hatch - bass guitar, vocals, bass synthesizer, percussion, backing vocals, 1979-1983
* David Eagle - drums, 1980-1981
* Richard Gibbs - keyboards, synthesizer, trombone, percussion, backing vocals, 1980-1983
* Paul Fox - synthesizers, 1984
* Michael Bacich - keyboards, backing vocals, 1984-1987
* Carl Graves - keyboards, synthesizers, backing vocals, 1988-1994

Oingo Boingo Discography


Oingo Boingo Only A Lad (Album) A&M Records, I.R.S. Records Canada 1981 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Nothing To Fear (Album) A&M Records, I.R.S. Records Australia 1982 Sell This Version
none Oingo Boingo Marching In Time(Cass) Not On Label none 1982 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Good For Your Soul (Album) A&M Records US 1983 Sell This Version
The Mystic Knights Of The Oingo Boingo* Forbidden Zone (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Album) Milan France 1983 Sell This Version
#1008 Oingo Boingo The Penthouse/Omni Magazine College Rock Concert(LP, Transcription) London Wavelength #1008 US 1983 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Dead Man's Party (Album) MCA Records, MCA Records Australia 1985 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Boi-Ngo (Album) MCA Records US 1987 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Boingo Alive (Celebration Of A Decade 1979-1988) (Album) MCA Records US 1988 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Dark At The End Of The Tunnel (Album) MCA Records Canada 1990 Sell This Version
Boingo* Boingo (Album) Giant Records US 1994 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Farewell: Live From The Universal Amphitheatre (Album) A&M Records US 1996 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

1001 Mystic Knights Of The Oingo Boingo* You Got Your Baby Back(7", Single) Pelican Records (2) 1001 US 1976 Sell This Version
1-130 Oingo Boingo Demo EP(10", EP, Ltd, Num, Promo) Not On Label (Oingo Boingo Self-released) 1-130 US 1979 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Oingo Boingo (EP) I.R.S. Records Canada 1980 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Only A Lad (Single) I.R.S. Records US 1980 Sell This Version
K-8543 Oingo Boingo Little Girls(7", Single) A&M Records K-8543 Australia 1981 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Private Life (Single) A&M Records US 1982 Sell This Version
2504, 2504-S Oingo Boingo Whole Day Off(7", Mono, Promo) A&M Records, A&M Records, I.R.S. Records, I.R.S. Records 2504, 2504-S US 1982 Sell This Version
S-304 30, S 30430 Oingo Boingo Nothing To Fear(7", Single) A&M Records, A&M Records S-304 30, S 30430 Bolivia 1982 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Wake Up (It's 1984) (Single) A&M Records US 1983 Sell This Version
SP-17242 Oingo Boingo Nothing Bad Ever Happens / Who Do You Want To Be(12", Promo) A&M Records SP-17242 US 1983 Sell This Version
10394 Oingo Boingo Good For Your Soul(7", EP) A&M Records 10394 Bolivia 1983 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo, Ira And The Geeks Oingo Boingo, Ira And The Geeks - Weird Science (Single) MCA Records Ecuador 1985 Sell This Version
Oingo Boingo Stay (Single) MCA Records Italy 1985 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 20, 2017
Oingo Boingo's first three albums are incredible bursts of energy, full of spitting vitriol from Danny alongside real tight musicians.

There's an amazing array of sounds present, but the main feeling is angular New Wave. It can range from downright Funk to (almost) Metal to be honest!

Every track on the first three albums is inventive & exciting, and while Danny may not always agree with your particular political landscape (I still don't know for sure if he's serious or not in tracks like Capitalism), you always find yourself singing along.

After Dead Man's Party they changed style quite a bit, like many 80's bands did.

I can't comment on that material.


November 19, 2015
Richard Elfman had The Mystic Knights Of The Oingo Boingo do more than just the soundtrack for the Forbidden Zone. The Mystic Knights Of The Oingo Boingo were also actors in the movie with Danny Elfman playing Satan, the rest of the Knights played his minions.

Videos (64) Edit