Theatre Of Eternal Music

The name Theatre of Eternal Music was first applied in February 1965 to a group of musicians working with La Monte Young, although most of the initial line up had been working together since the Summer of 1962. In 1963 and early 1964, the core consisted of Tony Conrad, Angus MacLise, La Monte Young and Marian Zazeela, with John Cale joining in September 1963. In 1963, before the Theatre of Eternal Music name was used, this core group was augmented by Larry Poons, Joseph Byrd, Dottie Moskowitz, and Jack Smith, although they don't seem to have been part of the actual group. MacLise left the group in February 1964. Cale left next in 1965 to be replaced by Terry Riley, who only performed in public with the group twice. Young officially disbanded the group following the August 20, 1966 performance at the Sundance Festival in Pennsylvania. However, he revived the group in 1969 with Conrad, Zazeela and other new members including Alex Dea, Jon Gibson, Jon Hassell, Lee Konitz, Garrett List and David Rosenboom. Other members of group have included Terry Jennings, Dennis Johnson, Ben Neill, Charles Curtis, Jon Catler, Brad Catler, Hansford Rowe, Michael Harrison, Jim O’Connor, Stephen Burns, Rich Clymer, Tom Varner, Steve Johns, Marcus Rojas, Don Hayward and others.


Image Title Label Catalog Number Year In Your Collection, Wantlist, or Inventory Actions


83 510, 83.510 Dream House 78'17 La Monte Young, Marian Zazeela, The Theatre Of Eternal Music* La Monte Young, Marian Zazeela, The Theatre Of Eternal Music* - Dream House 78'17" (Album) Shandar, Shandar 83 510, 83.510 France 1974 Sell This Version