tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
Hey anyone craving more Speedy J: you can find a bunch of new collabs as well as some more Zeitgeber on the STOOR youtube channel. as SPDJ though. Enjoy.
anton.hystrix

Speedy J as reviewed by anton.hystrix

August 24, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
After hearing The Oil Zone and a couple of other tracks from that album on the radio I thought "That should be another great artist!". Now after listening to the entire catalogue I think "This is another overrated german / dutch artist". The situation is very similar to Sven Vath - a couple of early albums (in this case Ginger and G Spot or rather G Spot and !ive) had the distinct style and high quality, but strangely before and after that these artists always did the same repetitive banging "underground european techno". I don't know, maybe people really like it but there is no trace of any quality there, I think it's very sad :(
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

May 8, 2019
edited about 1 month ago
By the way, if you hate my review so much there is a magic "Report" button. Try it before starting discussions, maybe you'll save a huge amount of time. Apparently someone reported my negative review on the KLF the same way and that review disappeared in time. I know you can do it too :)
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

May 8, 2019
1. Yes, english is my second language. That doesn't create any problem for me, I perfectly understand you.
2. Even more, I'm russian, what do you expect from peasants who sleep with bears and drink all day, lol.
3. "lol what the fuck. dogshit interpretation of this genius" - that's where you called my opinion dogshit in your first comment, lol.
4. "On the artist page" - why should I care? Who is he? A god who I must respect unconditionally (just because he can make some sounds with synthesizers and has imagination) and try not to ruin his perfect world of loving fans? If he makes music I like, I pay and respect him, if he doesn't then I don't.
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

May 7, 2019
edited about 1 month ago
1. I'll try to explain once more. I got absolutely no problem with you or any other fan saying you own opinion politely as long as you don't disrespect my opinion and call me dogshit. What is your personal problem that you hate me for stating my opinion? Who defines absolute truth about the piece of art? You? Mysterious god? Mike Paradinas whose music I even didn't listen (not too interested in the genre, only like Aphex Twin)? I don't like the change of direction in Speedy J's music, I consider his later music as bad music. You consider it as good, these opinions can exist in the universe simultaneously and we can still respect one another.

By the way, I like Boards Of Canada but it has nothing to do with my opinion abount Speedy J.

2. "because they do understand something incredibly unique that nobody else understands in quite the same way as they do as individual artists" = blah blah blah, artists are gods and we dirty peasants should lick their feet = total absolute stupidity. I won't even comment this difference in our understanding of people's nature any more.
tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
Again with the douchey shit like calling me a 'pathetic guardian', this is where we have issues. I'm not trying to fight for anyone. I'm saying you are coming to an artists page and spewing negative bullshit as if that isn't stupid in of itself. I never said a word about art being for artists, I merely said people are not equal, and some have more complex, realistic understandings of what art really is. In other words people with higher intellect are not intellectually equal to people with lower intellects lol. It's common sense. I don't care what you think either, but I certainly do care what Mike Paradinas thinks, or BoC, or other creative genius', because they do understand something incredibly unique that nobody else understands in quite the same way as they do as individual artists, so it is extremely valuable to attempt to learn from such individuals. If you can't see value in that, I don't know what to tell you.
But hey man, you do you. If you like being overly critical on legendary artists' pages on the internet, that's your choice to open up for all the fans to give you their opinion.
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

May 7, 2019
edited about 1 month ago
The most stupid thing about this discussion is that you even didn't understand my initial review. I did say that G Spot is very good album, I even consider purchasing it in the future to support the artist. Things like Treatments, Symmetry, The Oil Zone, Lanzarote are very good pieces of art. Things like Krekc compared to them is like some absurd modern sculpture compared to Michelangelo's David.

This is what I think. I don't care what Speedy J thinks, he makes his music and sells it, not my right to forbid him to do it. It's his path, his choice. I don't care what you think, I don't care what Mike Paradinas or another serious musical guy think. Art is not for experts only, art is for all people, that's what I meant by saying people are equal. It's everyone's right to have an opinion. If music was for musicians only, books for writers only the world would be a stupid place.

When we are talking about spaceflights or engineering, yes, experts are not equal to common people who don't have special knowledge. But no man shoul have any special knowledge to understand what music he like and what music he don't like.

I have nothing more to say, thank you. You may continue to behave like a pathetic guardian, fighting for the artist who doesn't care and didn't ask you for this.
tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
I honestly don't think I've been that rude, apart from the swearing, and obvious things like people being equal lol. But if you took it that way I honestly apologise. I may have gotten a little carried away hahah... You gotta admit though man it's like going to some band you hate on youtube and making a negative comment... You're kinda asking for it.
tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
Yes, Mr. Condescending, you did insult the artist, on the artists page. "no trace of any quality there, i think it's very sad" LOL. Yeah i don't have an issue with criticism. I do have an issue with condescending know-it-alls who say dumb shit like "all people are equal" lmao. Like yeah okay equal rights for sure but people are far from equal. That is plain stupidity. Speedy J definitely wouldn't give a fuck about negative criticism nor would anyone with a spine - i agree. I'm saying this is kind of an unwise place to be making these comments.
tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
Oh and by the way, people are not equal, and some people's artistic opinions are far more truthful and valuable than others.
You were asking for serious criticism by coming to an artists page (where mainly fans come) to talk shit. Think about it buddy. I don't believe I've been rude either. It is my opinion that your interpretation of this artist is not as accurate or as honest as it could be.
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

May 7, 2019
Insulting the artist? Lol, artists are criticized since the mankind made the first picture or wrote the first book. Learn some history, there were dozens of artists who became famous only after death or even after a century and were "insulted" by the public before that. If the artist is afraid of criticism he is not an artist. The world is tired of sugary positive internet reviews nowadays, I want to add some negative too so the artists don't live in their imaginable world of fake popularity.
tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
If you don't want to be harshly criticized maybe you shouldn't attempt to harshly criticize while also insulting an artist. you are going to get bitched at if you do that. lol
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

May 7, 2019
edited about 1 month ago
I have an impression that most of the people forget the definition of the word "review". It's my own opinion and I have the right to say what I want to say even if you don't like it or disargee with it. Go say shut up to "official" professional critics whose opinions about one thing could be completely different. If you like Speedy J and I don't like it, if you can't stand criticism or another opinion, that is your problem, not mine. I am talking to you politely, you're not.

P.S. I don't care what other musicians say. Every one of us are equal people and no one is an expert in what's called art. Even the artists.
tinylittlealien

Speedy J tinylittlealien

May 7, 2019
lol what the fuck. dogshit interpretation of this genius'. go listen to Slag Boom Van Loon if you haven't. Sorry dawg but just cause you don't like repetition doesn't mean you have an informed opinion about how 'good' his music is. you're basically whining cause it isn't your style. most other people that really know whatsup, like idunno Mike Paradinas, or Boards of Canada.. well fuck dude i think they probably know better than you. all of his records after G Spot were insanely groundbreaking. sorry you didn't 'get it'.
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

March 13, 2019
I know what I'm talking about because one of my most favorite artists is Blawan and you can't deny the guy does proper dark techno vibe. Another artist whose releases I support with money is The Black Dog who have the talent to make everything from drone ambient to dancefloor techno. What I was trying to say that Speedy J limited himself with abrasive repetitive sound which I don't like and many other people don't like. That's my opinion and my review and you don't have to be angry or fight with me.
grain

Speedy J grain

March 12, 2019
You don't know what you're talking about.
The 'repetitive banging' records that Speedy J put out were absolutely ground breaking when they dropped. He was one of the most innovative artists around at that time, pushing a harder sound than most, and needed to answer to no one for that. Not to mention the mammoth 'A Shocking Hobby', which is absolutely timeless, and the records in and around 'Loudboxer', including Kreck which was an anthem in a completely fresh style of hard techno, yes, loopy as fuck, but in that hypnotic way that was about function and pure energy.
My guess is you like a nice melody, and you've been judging that music from a nice comfy armchair. All chilled out. No clue about how techno works at a sweaty rave.
Your idea of 'quality' is obviously that which couldn't include 'repetitive banging'. Your loss.
Leitmotif

Speedy J Leitmotif

September 20, 2017
Agreed. G-spot is brilliant. A lot of the other stuff in his catalogue is dull.
anton.hystrix

Speedy J anton.hystrix

August 25, 2017
And please don't mention a couple of ambient albums on Pete Namlook's label. They show that if he wanted to make better music he would. But he didn't.
noizstepper

Speedy J noizstepper

October 4, 2015
Taking public energy, shocking Hobby and loudboxer you got the best electronic music has to offer!
technomietze

Speedy J technomietze

August 6, 2011
Thank you for the divine gift of perfect sounds that carry me today in the realms beyond the galaxy. Even if I have to say that my enjoyment of your music had its peak from 1997-2004, so you remained faithful to your striking tones at least. Perfect sound world .... thank you!
trancephorm

Speedy J as reviewed by trancephorm

July 22, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
One of the most influential names on today's electronic scene. No vocals, no live drums, just pure electronics, ranging from easy ambient to the dancefloor beasts. Speedy J makes rules.
LaKing

Speedy J as reviewed by LaKing

August 4, 2002
There was one track ca 1997 wich has got commercial, but this was good for his name's fame. The main Speedy J has a shocking hobby. Sitting at home and makeing overdriven distored electronic hiphopdrumloops + oldstylesynthpads.
Absolute brilliant. Not the rave/party stuff, "soething for your mind, body, and your soul." And your Car.
This style is the only one where synthpads are ok, becose there is no trance feeling in.
The other side of Speedy J. makes partystuff, a well known, and welcomed name in the scene.