laughing-gor

The Sisters Of Mercy as reviewed by laughing-gor

September 18, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
Way back in the mid-80s, I was a punk/metal kid with an increasingly Goth-influenced image. Don't laugh :D

I bought almost everything they did until "This Corrosion", but it's the early 12"s which really did it for me - these were notable for probably being the first records I had ever bought which featured a drum machine (I was mostly into metal and punk until I heard "Alice").

Now, after decades of techno-party raving, virtually everything I buy features at least a TR-808 or a TR-909. How times change... :)

Plenty of classic tunes on those early records, but how they got away with ripping off The Velvets' "Venus In Furs" on "Valentine" is beyond me :)
rabbitzaudio

The Sisters Of Mercy rabbitzaudio

May 21, 2016
edited over 3 years ago
Funny you mention this. As a teenager in the 90's, I fell in love with new wave and gothic for years, and like you, I totally LOVED the first few albums (well, more singles) they did, even if this was about a decade before my time... I have every single of them that was affordable on vinyl. And like you, I never realized Dr Avalanche was just the name they gave to their drum computer (untill I saw them live for the 1st time). No wonder I've become an electronic music producer nowadays. I grew up listening to drum computers years before they became commonly used everywhere by everyone (including myself) :)
Just listened to "Alice" again, and man, those lyrics are like 500x more spot on nowadays than they were 30 years ago...
Halo-rez

The Sisters Of Mercy Halo-rez

April 1, 2015
Isn't there a promo 7" for "Black Planet"? anyone?
Rise89

The Sisters Of Mercy Rise89

May 20, 2015
If you send me a photo I can tell you what it is
Rise89

The Sisters Of Mercy Rise89

May 20, 2015
Not an official one only a 12"
Ron242

The Sisters Of Mercy as reviewed by Ron242

January 26, 2008
In the early and mid 80ties when new wave was at its peak The Sisters Of Mercy were amongst the first to use drum machines instead of drums. Blasphemous so they were told.
However their music couldn't surpass those who disparate shouted that these productions should not be released to market. Gladly the masses found it highly enjoyable. The people are never wrong.
The Sisters Of Mercy managed to compose friendly yet haunting music of great class. Folk of all classes danced happily around to underground hits such as 'Alice', 'Temple Of Love' and 'This Corrosion'. Every release was a joy, talked about amongst friends and highly sought after.
uebertragung

The Sisters Of Mercy uebertragung

November 24, 2015
Hahaha, Ron242: Transistors of Mercy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZadlH_oR1i4 One of them is a Ron, 2.
Crijevo

The Sisters Of Mercy as reviewed by Crijevo

May 10, 2007
edited over 12 years ago
Sadly (and wilfully), the image of SOM seems now a dated frozen 'dark' picture, featuring Eldtritch in his typical 'goth' pose (term 'goth' he insists to exclude nowadays)... Hordes of their fans still live out this same frozen frame of 'Floodland' era - ironically, whatever their quailities might seem now, a group once sounding promising and then dropping bollocks altogether, layed their darkest eggs in that famous early period when 'goth' was less obvious in favour of Suicide and The Stooges flavour - 'Some Girls Wander By Mistake' is by far their most sincere body of work. Personally I was never that much of a fan of Sisters' but this one is worth paying sencere respect.