Nuevo Mexico

Nuevo Mexico

1971 original lineup for Polydor recordings

Carlos Mata (Guitar)
Miguel Suarez (Bass)
Armando Suerez (Drums)

1973-1979 Orfeon

Carlos Mata (Guitar)
Raúl Noriega (bass)
Francisco López (Bass)
Jorge Reyes (Flauta)

Carlos Mata and "Nuevo Mexico" dedicated their attention to the sounds like: The Symphonic Rock that in that as extroverted English bands as "Yes", "Emerson, Lake and Palmer", "Jethro Tull", "Genesis" and "Pink Floyd", among others. Costume of the most accessible and commercial face of those moments: the union of rock with classical music, the mirage of rock made in art thanks to the use of elements against those who rebel in their beginnings.
New Mexico, in that sense, was a more conventional grouping. They shared credits with the bands of the moment (Arbol, Dug Dugs, Three Souls in My Mind), but they differed in their approach to rock: they tended toward the classic progressive and in the fonkys holes this music was not what most people asked for . But the quartet got an interesting alchemy: it could be handled in the strictly rocker scope and oscillate into the symphonism without becoming radical.
Viewing All | Nuevo Mexico


Nuevo Mexico Discography Tracks


Nuevo Mexico Hecho En Casa (Album, Comp) Orfeon Mexico 1975 Sell This Version
LP-12-1103 Nuevo Mexico Grupo Nuevo Mexico Vol II(LP, Album) ORFEON LP-12-1103 Mexico 1979 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

2064 017 Nuevo Mexico Que Ritmo / Sueños(7", Single, Promo) Polydor 2064 017 Mexico 1971 Sell This Version
45-3265 Nuevo Mexico Dreams / Preludio(7") Orfeon 45-3265 Mexico 1975 Sell This Version
45-3918, 8084-2 Nuevo Mexico Guadalajara / El Mar(7", EP) Orfeon, Orfeon 45-3918, 8084-2 Mexico 1979 Sell This Version


Nuevo Mexico Grupo Nuevo Mexico (Comp) Orfeon Mexico 1989 Sell This Version

Videos (5) Edit