Escape Mechanism

Escape Mechanism

Real Name:
Jonathan Nelson
Since at least 1997, Escape Mechanism (Jonathan Nelson) has used nothing but sounds found in the broadcast media to create new and original works of sound collage. The debut CD, Escape Mechanism, was released in 1998. Live CDs were released in 2002 and 2004. A new studio album, titled (Emphasis Added), was released in 2008.

The project also served as inspiration for Nelson's long running radio show, Some Assembly Required, heard on college, community and public radio stations across the US and Canada.
In Groups:


Escape Mechanism Discography Tracks


REC004 Escape Mechanism Escape Mechanism(CD, Album) Recombinations REC004 US 1998 Sell This Version
REC006 Escape Mechanism (Emphasis Added)(CD, Album) Recombinations REC006 2008 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

STmCD 021 Escape Mechanism, Steev Hise, The Tape-beatles, Wobbly Escape Mechanism, Steev Hise, The Tape-beatles, Wobbly - Minneapolis Summit(CD, Mini) Staalplaat STmCD 021 Netherlands 2002 Sell This Version
none Escape Mechanism House Of The Haunted Ink Bottle(CD, Single) The Midden Heap Press none US 2009 Sell This Version