ajmedway

Tom Middleton as reviewed by ajmedway

February 5, 2008
This man is a legend... pure and simple.

That early collaboration with Aphex Twin has proven to be the spark of an incredible career in Dance-related musics, and right now, I think he has pipped AFX to the post in acheiving a sort of "god" status.

The Jedi has remained accessible to my mum and missus just as much as he has,countless times, provided the soundtrack to my messy club/indoor-lounge-stoner nights since I was a kid.

Right now I am listening to his latest "Renaissance 3D" CD's and am getting flashbacks to the "Sound of the Cosmos" release on Hooj Choons (from 2002 I think)... He's kept his ID through turbulent times in dance music, and still maintains his credence...

This is GOD - a DJ and Producer
captcta1

Tom Middleton captcta1

April 21, 2015
edited over 2 years ago
Pipped rdj to the post of god status???
aha, ok your either related to Tom, Tom himself or clueless.
noviellion

Tom Middleton as reviewed by noviellion

July 30, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
Tom Middleton is royalty! The AFX relation should be enough evidence. To me, Tom Middleton's music is a very well constructed bridge from the abstracted,forward style of electronica(be it older electronica nowadays) to the more accessible dance music. I dont particularly dig a generic club track that drones on without purpose, but I also don't like pure abstracted sludge either. Mr Middleton's hybrid styled tracks make it easier to enjoy music that could be played on the dancefloor as well as anywhere else. His ability to transform into many different styles of electronica is what makes him even better than the average producre/dj. We need more people like him to keep everything in check.
hal8999_

Tom Middleton as reviewed by hal8999_

June 12, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
I think that Tom Middleton doesn't get as much recognition as other genre-based DJ is because he ISN'T a genre-based DJ. It seems that most club goers have certain sounds that they like and certain that they dislike and are very specific about these (EG: I love breakbeat house and progressive trance but jungle and detroit techno make me want to retch). Since Mr. Middleton seems to break a lot of boundaries and change his style of output so frequently, he kind of prevents himself from being able to obtain a genre-based following.
mentasm

Tom Middleton as reviewed by mentasm

May 24, 2004
How come after all these years he is not looked up at the same way say, Eric Morillo is? Few artists from the "scene" manage to be accomplished DJs AND essantial producers. Tom is both, having released some of the most wonderful music ever made (I mean it...), and being and challenging DJ. His mixed CDs are real ear-openers, which does not happen a lot these days. Sublime productions and excellent compilations all the way long, so why not more recognition? After all, the best secrets are the hidden ones, so...
TheMP3Ripper

Tom Middleton as reviewed by TheMP3Ripper

January 4, 2003
Tom Middleton has been a musical influence for me ever since I hear his "A Jedi's Night Out" mix disc. Every single record this man releases is a wonderful combination of inspired production, wonderful melody, and that bit of eccentric soul that makes a Middleton song unique. I have recommended "The Sound of the Cosmos" to every single person I know, whether they're an electronic music fan or not. This man is an inspiration to me, and I hope he keeps it up for a long time.