Well Of Souls

Well Of Souls

Official Bio :Epic Doom Metal band Well Of Souls was formed by vocalist John Calvin in December of 1997. The band began by covering their mentors Solitude Aeturnus, Candlemass, and Black Sabbath among others but they quickly developed their own style of classic metal mixed with European metal and doom metal. After a number of line-up changes and a decision to become more serious with the project, the band spent the next eight months writing and recording their original five-song demo CD EP released in 2000, the now out-of-print and sought after "Black Reign" Demo which contains different versions of what would appear on the debut full length CD as well as unreleased songs.

As Well Of Souls built their live fanbase they were compared to everything from Fates Warning to Iron Maiden to Blind Guardian to Solitude Aeturnus as they employed a crushing guitar sound with progressive drumming and John's very unique, clean vocal style. In 2003 the band recorded their official debut CD after working out a deal with Texas-based Brainticket Records run by legendary guitarist John Perez of Solitude Aeturnus. The self titled CD was released in January 2004 and Well Of Souls began another onslaught of live shows with international recording artists Savatage, Helloween, Fates Warning, Seven Witches, Omen, Steel Prophet, Helstar, Destinys End, Reverend Bizarre & Solitude Aeturnus among others. For their East Coast tour the band released the very limited edition "Pilgrimage of Doom EP" which contains 2 live songs and 2 rough demos that would appear on the bands next release.

After the band's East Coast tour ended, they began writing the follow-up CD to their successful debut. It would be five long years of writing and recording as the lineup changed and longtime members departed. After a long hiatus from music, Tim Wayne returned to the band in 2010 and new bassist Michael "Dr. Froth" Millsap (Six Minute Century and formerly of 80's stalwarts Helstar & Axe) joined in 2011. Dr. Froth quickly recut the bass tracks and finally the 4th release and 2nd full length CD titled "Sorrow My Name" was released on Brainticket Records on October 9, 2012. Christopher Lee Kotlarz (drummer of Echo Temple) joined the band for live shows in 2013 and 2014.

Well Of Souls then began writing their 3rd full length release tentatively titled "The Depths of Depravity" which will be released in late 2016 on a as-yet-unknown label.


Well Of Souls Discography Tracks


BTR 013 Well Of Souls Well Of Souls(CD, Album) Brainticket Records BTR 013 US 2004 Sell This Version
79294 Well Of Souls Sorrow My Name(CD, Album) Brainticket Records 79294 US 2012 Sell This Version

Singles & EPs

none Well Of Souls Black Reign Demos(CDr, EP, Ltd) Diamondhead Records none US 2000 Sell This Version
none Well Of Souls Pilgrimage Of Doom - Limited Tour EP(CDr, EP, Ltd) Diamondhead Records none US 2005 Sell This Version