Brasse Vannie Kaap


South African hip-hop crew from Cape Town, Western Cape, founded in 1996.

Hailing from the Cape Flats, on the outskirts of Cape Town, Brasse Vannie Kaap (or BVK) are a socially-conscious hip-hop group, comprised of MC's, DJ's and B-boy's, performing predominantly in Afrikaans. The group was committed to community involvement within the Cape Flats and the South African nation, participating in numerous workshops, out-reach programs, and charity concerts. BVK proved to have a broad appeal, becoming one of the biggest musical acts in the country, and performing in major festivals in Africa and Europe.

The group have seen several formations since their inception, with rappers Garlic Brown and the late Mr. Fat making up the core of the group, DJ Hamma left the group, and Rapper/DJ Ready D (of POC) and DJ Azuhl joined the group. The B-boys are Marlon, Brandon and Dmitri, which make up the 7 members of the group. Past B-boys in the crew have included Shortee Blitz, Cheez and Baby L (members of Azanian B.Boys and Pumpkins), while DJ E-20 has been heavily involved, and performed as the groups DJ as well.

BVK's self titled debut set precedent for the local hip-hop in South Africa. It featured guest appreances by the late Mr. Devious, D'Low and Garth. It also features a rework of Breyton Breytonbachs "Gedagtes van Gedigte".

The second album Yskoud gave rise to the group, and their first international recognition. On Yskoud, BVK tackled South African issues, rapping about Potjiekois or relaxing on the Cape Flats. Their serious side comes out on songs dealing with child abuse and wife battery.

Super Power, their third album, features tracks from the previous albums plus new tracks like the rework of the 7de laan opening sequence music. Their final album Ysterbek was released in 2006.

Mr. Fat (Ashley Titus) died on November 27, 2007 from heart complictations. Garlic Brown continues to perform as a solo artist and as a member of the hip-hop collective the League Of Shadows, making an appearance on Die Antwoord's 2009 debut, $O$.

Members:Deon T Daniels, DJ Azuhl, DJ Hamma, Garlic Brown, Mr. Fat (3)
Viewing All | Brasse Vannie Kaap


For sale on Discogs

Sell a copy



Showing 0 - 0 of 0