dZihan & Kamien ‎– Freaks & Icons

Six Degrees Records ‎– 657036 1036-2
CD, Album, Digipack

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 After 7:24
2 Dabudei 4:44
3 Streets Of Istanbul 5:05
4 Before 5:20
5 Homebase 7:19
6 I Guess She... 4:13
7 Slowhand Hussein 5:24
8 Just You & I 5:54
9 Colores 3:26
10 Ocean Air 5:22
11 Smile
Written-By – Savka Jankovic
12 Where Are We? 5:37
13 Spacewater 5:18

Companies, etc.




Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 57036 10362 7
  • Matrix / Runout: FREAK & ICON/DMCA/2304

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CR 21005 dZihan & Kamien Freaks & Icons(2xLP) Couch Records CR 21005 Austria 2000 Sell This Version
CR 21004 dZihan & Kamien Freaks & Icons(CD, Album, Dig) Couch Records CR 21004 Austria 2000 Sell This Version
PRCD 1036-2 dZihan & Kamien Freaks & Icons(CD, Album, Promo, Car) Six Degrees Records PRCD 1036-2 US 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 21, 2004

Dzihan & Kamien’s debut album, <I>Freaks and Icons</I>, gets off to a funky start with “After,” only to slow things down with the “Dabudei.” They draw on a definite Middle Eastern influence: it crops up often, from the strings on “Streets of Istanbul” and “I Guess She…” to the percussion of “Just You & I.” But they are equally adept at making beautiful downtempo, like the sinewy “Before,” the slinky “Slowhand Hussein,” or the whispery “Colores.” Some of the tracks are rough around the edges, but their quality shines through nonetheless. The dreamy and sweet “Smile” cements the fact that they know what they’re doing. A great debut from a very talented duo.


August 26, 2003
Stunning album by the two austrians, Freaks and Icons is definately worth the money you'l spend on it. The sounds are mature and well blended with turkish and even greek style instruments. All this with the brilliant electronic sounds really brings out a stunning feel. "Homebase" and "Smile" are highlights to myself and most of my friends.


January 27, 2003

Brilliant album. Alternates between funky house and surreal ambient moods (sometimes within the same song). Definately reccomended :D