101 Strings ‎– Astro-Sounds From Beyond The Year 2000

Modern Harmonic ‎– MH-8048
Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress, Stereo, Transparent Yellow Vinyl


A1 Flameout
A2 Re-Entry to Mog
A3 Space Odyssey
A4 Astral Freakout
A5 Orbit Fantasy
B1 Barrier X-69
B2 A Disappointing Love With A Desensitized Robot
B3 Where Were You in 1982?
B4 Trippin' On Lunar 07
B5 A Bad Trip Back to '69



Record Store Day 2017

Swirling guitars and proto-ambient electronica sounds from many light years away!

The Astro-Sound of Magnificence, from Beyond the Year 2000...a unique capsule of a funky, psychedelic rhythm section jamming, with snarling, stabbing and swooshing cranked-up-to-infinity electric guitar voyages piloted by Wrecking Crew veteran Jerry Cole, polished and primed for takeoff with a string section playing eerie, beckoning melodies in unison. These are the sounds of epiphanies concerning the future, space and sounds on the horizon, circa 1969.

The tracks for this album were recorded by Cole and other players during sessions for a separate longplayer and were deemed to be outtakes; the details as to how they became Astro Sounds From Beyond the Year 2000 are dark and distant, but the 10 tracks here were first issued sans strings in 1967 as The Animated Egg, with alternate song titles. Two years later the recordings were overdubbed with the swirling, piercing phase-shifted strings mix you hear here, creating a spectacular fusion of psych-rock, R&B, easy listening and fuzz guitar, with hints of the coming worlds of ambient and electronica.

These truly are the far out sounds of tomorrow’s unchartered trip, as the original album jacket proclaims—come aboard, launch and listen.

Barcode und andere Identifikationsmerkmale

  • Barcode (Barcode on hype sticker): 090771804815


Rezensionen Alle 3 Rezensionen anzeigen

Rezension hinzufügen



26. November 2018
The Modern Harmonic reissue is taken from a needledrop of an original LP complete with distortion rather than a tape source. A really disappointing and lazy trend.


22. März 2018
Any review of the pressing and the overall feeling would be appreciated fellows!