trhm68

New Order trhm68

20. März 2019
obviously their best output was the 80's, they only done Republic in the 90's, 2 in the 00's, Get Ready(fine lp) Waiting For the Sirens Call and follow up to that Lost Sirens 2011(from same Sessions as WFTSC) but their 80's tunes you missed Confusion, state of the Nation,Love vigilantes, The Perfect Kiss, Bizarre Love Triangle, true faith, everythings gone green, age of consent, your perfect face, vanishing point, Sunrise, you get my point, but Bernards Lyrics aren't to your liking in comparison to Ian Curtis is laughable, there's no pleasing you & Hooky is a jealous little child running around crucifying their Legacy with his PH&TL i love Rowetta but her replacing the most haunting vocal ever put to vinyl is a piss take, poor Ian Curtis will be rotating violently in his grave!!
bobbydelanepoole

New Order as reviewed by bobbydelanepoole

2. November 2018
New Order are fine musicians who manage to make a quartet sound like an orchestra. (Miss ya Hooky!). That being said, Bernie's lyrics are silly and trite compared to Ian Curtis'. Their only real breakthroughs were Temptation and Blue Monday and their best days were in the eighties.
Rich.C

New Order Rich.C

6. Januar 2017
New Order are frequently described as "survivors." Presumably, this refers to their days as Joy Division, which tragically ended with the suicide of vocalist Ian Curtis. They endured with the addition of Gillian Gilbert on keyboards, while guitarist Bernard Sumner took over vocals. "Survivors" might also refer to their evolution from the guitar-based Post-Punk of Joy Division to the increasingly synthetic sounds of their later records. But their survival instincts are truly indicated by the adept way they have evolved along with pop (and specifically dance) music. When "Blue Monday" hit dance floors in 1983, its grim atmosphere cast a dim shadow over the flickering disco lights and became an anthem for club kids tired of Disco's naive, unyielding excesses. Their synthetic dirges were ubiquitous throughout the '80s. Their 1998 Trance remix of "Confusion" for the Blade soundtrack pits raw Electro sounds against bitter, fluid bass kicks. They have also maintained impeccable integrity keeping one foot in the mainstream and the other underground, generating colossal worldwide hits as well as disturbing, alienated tracks with depressive guitar echoes and sad synth melodies. Even their most elevated, ethereal moments are grounded in melancholy, but provide a vaulting spirit that gives solace to any wilted flower.
carlt1977

New Order carlt1977

4. August 2018
This song blue monday is industrial disco, which is a fact influence by disco with synths
simonr69

New Order simonr69

20. April 2018
geändert about 1 year ago
Complete and utter drivel..riddled with SO many basic errors. Written like he knows what he's talking about. A few Wiki-facts, bad use of a "Theosaurus", poetic ambitions, offering untruths using his own flighty imagination....Jeezus H Christ ! Grow up..and do some original research..
mrdrprofsir

New Order mrdrprofsir

28. März 2016
Okay so I recently obtained a German copy (RTD 50 LC 5661) with embossed letters on front cover. On the the back cover lies a signature, I was wondering if anyone could identify it, I would be so grateful. I made a picture of it my profile picture, but if you can't see it, let me know and I'll email it to ya.
mrdrprofsir

New Order mrdrprofsir

3. Dezember 2016
UPDATE: thought to be Peter Hook...shoutout to datamix (https://www.discogs.com/user/datamix) for the help
Mrmilano

New Order Mrmilano

8. Oktober 2015
My last review was written over 11 years ago!!! its amazing that such a great band, outputs masterpieces so sporadically.
Music Complete is a superb album, even without the original lineup.
One can only hope that it will not take them another 10 years to release a follow up album after Music Complete.
For now, we will have the comeback of this band in Vinyl, CD, and digital formats.
I opted for the special limited edition big box edition with the album and each song on extra vinyls, once again, designed by Peter Saville.

allobroge

New Order allobroge

3. Juni 2015
"Ceremony", my favorite rock song ( with "shadowplay" and many more by JD )
Mrmilano

New Order as reviewed by Mrmilano

4. November 2004
geändert over 14 years ago
Saw them Playing at Moby's Area One, in the San Bernardino Desert, a real life changing experience. After other 80's bands, this is probably the biggest influence of all the music of the late 90's. Blue Monday such an avante garde manifestation of electronic music.
But still prefer the older material. Regret, and Price of Love, are two of my newest favourite songs.

The videos are amazing imagery, although hard to find.
Peter Saville the graphic designer for their album covers is maybe the biggest influence in music cover design in the world.
New Order are Here to Stay, forever.
deep_honey

New Order deep_honey

23. Juni 2016
geändert over 3 years ago
a compilation 2xDVD box titled ITEM was released featuring all of their videos through 2005, so not too hard to find anymore (separately as A COLLECTION)
jaxxalude

New Order as reviewed by jaxxalude

16. März 2004
What else there is to say about New Order that hasn't been said? Maybe that, more than any other band/project (save, maybe, for The Clash), they were responsible for bringing black-rooted dance and electronic music to a reluctant indie/alternative audience, making it more palatable to those kind of listeners. Bands like Underworld, Stone Roses, Happy Mondays, The Chemical Brothers et al have a lot to thank New Order for.
trhm68

New Order trhm68

20. März 2019
spot on, so many great memories through so many decades with this Band, from a young Teen til now 7 still listening, legends, Hooky too, but he's wanting mega fame these days so he can fuck off the sell out!!!